Author Topic: Closed: Exporter dialog not using saved folder  (Read 2466 times)

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Closed: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« on: March 14, 2016, 03:28:52 AM »
I just noticed that the exporter dialog no longer uses the folder as saved within the snapshot. This used to work fine before, so there must have been a change that broke this (not sure which version introduced this though).

Hopefully this can get fixed easily.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2019, 08:09:26 AM by Hayo Baan »
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21429
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Bug: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2016, 09:30:01 AM »
Is this happening with multiple Export templates, Hayo?

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Bug: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2016, 11:44:59 PM »
Hi Kirk,

Sorry for the delay, but yes, it seems to happen with all templates (at least the ones I tried).
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21429
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Bug: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2016, 04:01:38 PM »
Hayo,

Sorry for the delay, but yes, it seems to happen with all templates (at least the ones I tried).

I looked over the code (and some of the old snapshot files) and the path is not stored in the snapshots.  The Exporter dialog saves the last path used in any given exporter (for all exporters) and should restore the last saved folder but definitely not per snapshot.

-Kirk

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Bug: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2016, 11:31:05 PM »
Huh? It most certainly does :o The path was (and is) present in all my snapshots.
And this is definitely the way it has worked before! My workflow depends on it...
« Last Edit: March 15, 2016, 11:33:15 PM by Hayo Baan »
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Bug: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2016, 08:05:52 AM »
Hi Kirk,

I checked some older versions and it works as expected up to v16765 so the bug must have been introduced somewhere after that release.

Hope this helps,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21429
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Bug: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2016, 09:15:35 AM »
Hayo,

Huh? It most certainly does :o The path was (and is) present in all my snapshots.
And this is definitely the way it has worked before! My workflow depends on it...

I'd like to see one (or more) of your snapshots, please.

-Kirk

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Bug: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2016, 09:41:41 AM »
Hi Kirk,

Sure. Here are two freshly created ones with the latest version of PM. As you can see the export path is definitely set. From the main_dialog section of the snapshot:
Code: [Select]
  prefs:
    :export_path: /Volumes/Data-2/Temp/
(the two snapshots use a different path, corresponding to the path I had selected prior to saving the snapshot).

My guess is the export_path is not correctly restored any longer, or that you perhaps altered the code and now use a different variable name?

Cheers,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2523
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: Fixed in 17338: Exporter dialog not using saved folder
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2016, 11:42:45 AM »
Kirk et al.,

awesome: I can confirm that Version 5 Build 17338 fixed this issue :)

Thanks,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl