Author Topic: Frame Metadata lost after renaming  (Read 3388 times)

Offline esotice

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Frame Metadata lost after renaming
« on: November 05, 2016, 09:17:38 AM »
Hello all,

I am new to this software and forum. I want to use the PM for renaming my files into something more unique and useful than IMG_XXXX. I decided on the date, time, camera model and frame as a naming convention. The renaming works easily enough, but here is my problem: after I rename a file, it loses its #Frame metadata. The next time I open PM, the frame number is gone from the metadata. This is problematic for me in case I ever want to rename again, as the frame number is missing! Can anyone help me out here? As you can see, the Frame #: is missing, and it was just there before changing the name.

I am running Photo Mechanic Version 5.0, build 17719 (c8049ca) and I run Mac OS X 10.11.6 on my Intel-based Mac.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2016, 11:26:57 AM by esotice »

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Frame Metadata lost after renaming
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2016, 12:03:45 PM »
The frame number that PM is showing for your camera's images is derived from the filename.  Apparently your camera does not supply the required frame number tag in the images it produces so PM gets this value from the filename itself.  Once the file is renamed to not include the frame number PM cannot derive it anymore.