Author Topic: Updating automatically keyword catalogue?  (Read 516 times)

Offline mariengb

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Updating automatically keyword catalogue?
« on: January 25, 2017, 10:46:11 am »
Hello,

As already spoke before in the forum I'm trying to create a open source keyword catalogue.

I have one question, is there any possibility to have PM5 automatically checking a TXT file if we place it at some place instead of going each time through the process of loading another text file? I'm under the OS X version.

I saw an .utf8 file in the Resources folder but it seems that it's not updated automatically.

Thanks

Trying to build up an open-source keyword catalogue.
https://github.com/neiram44/OSKC/

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17402
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Updating automatically keyword catalogue?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2017, 01:57:43 pm »
Hello,

As already spoke before in the forum I'm trying to create a open source keyword catalogue.

I have one question, is there any possibility to have PM5 automatically checking a TXT file if we place it at some place instead of going each time through the process of loading another text file? I'm under the OS X version.

I saw an .utf8 file in the Resources folder but it seems that it's not updated automatically.

That file is the set of defaults and is never updated.

The actual file that is updated by PM5 is at the following location on a Mac:

/Users/<your username>/Library/Preferences/com.camerabits.PhotoMechanic/StructuredKeywords_UTF-8.txt

PM will always load from that file if it exists and when saving, it will create/update that file.  If the file isn't present on load then PM will read the defaults.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline mariengb

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Updating automatically keyword catalogue?
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2017, 11:00:53 am »
Great thank Kirk for your answer and insight. I will give it a try.

Trying to build up an open-source keyword catalogue.
https://github.com/neiram44/OSKC/

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17402
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Updating automatically keyword catalogue?
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2017, 11:38:22 am »
Great thank Kirk for your answer and insight. I will give it a try.

OK, good.

BTW, your URL in your signature is incorrect.  I believe this is the correct one:

https://github.com/markorosic/open-keyword-catalog

Kind regards,

-Kirk

Offline mariengb

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Updating automatically keyword catalogue?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2017, 07:21:40 am »
You're right! I made some mistakes

I forked Markorosic work because he do not answer to any request.

I updated my signature (and by the way erased my other account because I don't know why I had create 2 accounts...)

Now everything should be clear ;)
« Last Edit: January 28, 2017, 07:39:21 am by mariengb »
Trying to build up an open-source keyword catalogue.
https://github.com/neiram44/OSKC/

Offline mariengb

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Updating automatically keyword catalogue?
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2017, 08:33:26 am »
Just a quick question I may be too stupid for that...

I try Alias or Symlink to point to another location but it's not working... any idea?

EDIT : Oups I was a little bit distracted. Seems to work perfectly with Symlink
« Last Edit: March 12, 2017, 08:38:30 am by mariengb »
Trying to build up an open-source keyword catalogue.
https://github.com/neiram44/OSKC/