Author Topic: Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra  (Read 240 times)

Offline Roy44

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra
« on: February 16, 2017, 01:54:27 am »
Hi,

Since I've installed a complete clean installation of MacOS Sierra 10.12.3 Photo Mechanic build 18040 keeps on disappearing from my Dock.
Every time I put it in there, the next time I reboot my mac, I see a question mark which says Photo Mechanic if I put my mouse pointer above it, but it doesn't open when I click it.

Any suggestions?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17303
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 07:48:26 am »
Hi,

Since I've installed a complete clean installation of MacOS Sierra 10.12.3 Photo Mechanic build 18040 keeps on disappearing from my Dock.
Every time I put it in there, the next time I reboot my mac, I see a question mark which says Photo Mechanic if I put my mouse pointer above it, but it doesn't open when I click it.

Any suggestions?

No.  It appears to be a bug in macOS Sierra.  PM does not communicate with the Dock to remove itself or to attempt to keep itself in the Dock.  PM doesn't even "know" it is in the Dock.

Here is a thread where this problem was investigated and discussed in great detail:

http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=10708.0

Hopefully Apple will fix the problem before they release yet another macOS with more bugs in it.

-Kirk

Offline Soizic

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 11:30:30 pm »
No such problem for me; two Mac with sierra 10.12.3 after clean install
Soizic (France)

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17303
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2017, 07:02:01 am »
No such problem for me; two Mac with sierra 10.12.3 after clean install

Yes, this problem happens for some people and not at all for the majority of macOS Sierra users.  We have been unable to reproduce the problem on our end.

-Kirk

Offline willievass

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 05:18:13 pm »
On MacOS Sierra I get Photo Mechanic running without a dot indicator beneath the icon showing it is an active application in the dock.

Offline Roy44

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2017, 10:37:00 am »
Thank you all for your replies. Let's hope Apple will fix this issue. Strange that it isn't the same problem for everybody. I also did a clean install, but this was the result. Photo mechanic isn't the only program which gives me problems. Unfortunately, the problems I got with my Adobe CS5 are way bigger, and they just don't support it anymore. But I got the feeling that also with Adobe, not everybody is experiencing these problems, so it might be either a hardware issue, or something that is more or less apple  ID related. Can it also be that the issue can also be caused by other installed programs, even when they are not running? Some kind of conflict?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17303
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic dissapears from Dock in MacOS Sierra
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2017, 11:45:17 am »
Thank you all for your replies. Let's hope Apple will fix this issue. Strange that it isn't the same problem for everybody. I also did a clean install, but this was the result. Photo mechanic isn't the only program which gives me problems. Unfortunately, the problems I got with my Adobe CS5 are way bigger, and they just don't support it anymore. But I got the feeling that also with Adobe, not everybody is experiencing these problems, so it might be either a hardware issue, or something that is more or less apple  ID related. Can it also be that the issue can also be caused by other installed programs, even when they are not running? Some kind of conflict?

It's hard to know but most apps on macOS don't have installers that modify how the system works.

-Kirk