Author Topic: NIK filters and Unable to render  (Read 2515 times)

Offline frankfitz@msn.com

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Frank Fitzpatrick Photography
NIK filters and Unable to render
« on: May 20, 2017, 03:52:00 AM »
I have been suing Nik filters on Nikon raw files and TIF files. However, once I have used NIK filters and save them to come back to PM I get an error message on a black background saying "Unable to render image".

Using PM 5 build 18327 with Windows 10 64 bit. $ Gb ram.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20604
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2017, 10:32:44 AM »
Frank,

I have been suing Nik filters on Nikon raw files and TIF files. However, once I have used NIK filters and save them to come back to PM I get an error message on a black background saying "Unable to render image".

Can you post a link to a sample file that PM cannot render?  We'd need a sample or two to know why PM can't deal with the images once modified by your NIK filters.

-Kirk

Offline frankfitz@msn.com

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Frank Fitzpatrick Photography
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2017, 11:50:57 AM »
Thanks for the reply Kirk.

Attached is the file that will not render.

I suspect, might be wrong, it might be something to do with NIK as I have same problem with Capture NX2 but not with PS5.

Regards, Frank

Offline frankfitz@msn.com

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Frank Fitzpatrick Photography
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2017, 02:23:43 AM »
Hi Kirk

Think I made a mess of sending a sample image so will try again.

The image opens OK in PS5 and Windows 10 but not PM5 or Capture NX2.

Thanks

Offline jwvaughn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Retired programmer
    • View Profile
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2017, 01:53:49 PM »

The image opens OK in PS5 and Windows 10 but not PM5 or Capture NX2.

Thanks

Hi Frank,

My configuration is the same as yours and the image opened with PM.  I also use NIK and have never had a problem but I do use it from inside Photoship and not standalone.  Is it possible a mangled sidecar file is being generated?

Jerry

Offline frankfitz@msn.com

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Frank Fitzpatrick Photography
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2017, 02:19:28 PM »
Hi Jerry

Thanks for the response.

That sounds a plausible idea and I might just change my work flow to accommodate your suggestion. PS5 seems OK and if I open in PS5/NIK I can then save the image and it will open OK.

Thanks again, Frank

Offline Soizic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
    • View Profile
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2017, 11:49:35 PM »
Your picture is not visible in PM on my Mac. I edit with PS no change, just save it  with another name and PM see it again
Soizic (France)
Mojave 10.14.6  mabookpro and miniMac
PM+ à jour

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2478
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2017, 04:12:59 AM »
Your “unable to render” image shows up fine in PM on my mac. However, your first image “Image 1 1”, indeed shows as unable to render in PM (OS X's Preview shows it just fine though).

I also looked a bit further at the image metadata (with ExifTool's -validate option) and there are a number of warnings. Most you can ignore (they are present in the one that shows OK too). But I think the two that are not also present in the tiff that does show are the reason PM can not render the image:
Warning = Missing required IFD0 tag 0x0111 StripOffsets
Warning = Missing required IFD0 tag 0x0117 StripByteCounts


It looks like (your version of) Color Efex Pro writes files that are not completely valid…
Since they are tifs, simply do as @Soizic suggested: open in PS and resave.

Cheers,
Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline jwvaughn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Retired programmer
    • View Profile
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2017, 11:47:25 AM »
Frank,

After Hayo's commentw, I went back and downloaded both files.  The first, "Image 1 1.tif", will not display in PM but the second will.  I took a look at the EXIF data and it appears that the second image may have been saved from Photoshop.

I opened "Image 1 1.tif" in Photoshop and save it and all was well with PM.

I think Hayo has found the problem and @Soizic's solution works.

Jerry

Offline frankfitz@msn.com

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
    • Frank Fitzpatrick Photography
Re: NIK filters and Unable to render
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2017, 01:25:02 PM »
Hi Jerry

Thanks for the input.

I am changing my workflow to that you, and others, have suggested. Tried it out a couple of times and it is a worked fine.

Thanks to all for the help.

Frank