Author Topic: Change color labels?  (Read 314 times)

Offline 211Oakland

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Change color labels?
« on: January 07, 2018, 05:14:59 pm »
I've got PM5 on macOS.

I am trying to use the Lightroom compatible color labels. I switch to them in the Preferences, hit "OK" and then go back to the photos. But I'm still presented with the default set of colors and labels, not the Lr ones. When I go back to Prefs, they're back to the PM default set. I'm using these with .orf and writing to sidecars. Why can't the Lr set stick in prefs? or am I missing something?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17995
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Change color labels?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 08:53:20 pm »
Is there something keeping PM from updating its preferences?

I'd like to see your Photo Mechanic log.  In Photo Mechanic go to the Help menu and choose "Reveal Support Data..." and moments later a Finder window will come forward with the zipped log file selected.  Use the 'Attachments and other options' link when you're composing your reply to this message and there you'll be able to upload your zipped PM log file.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline markok

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Change color labels?
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2018, 04:46:41 am »
Hello, I experience similar difficulties while matching color labels in Photo Mechanic and LR.  It only works partially ie. I can only use 3 colors...?

PM only allows assigning colors from #1 - #8 while  LR is limited to #6  - #9 ... which means I get matching colors in LR only if I assign corresponding colors to #6 - #8 in PM! In all other cases LR will show WHITE color label.

Attached are screen shots...

Is there a solution to it? - so I will be able to use full color palette matching it in  both programs?!


Thank you,
Marko   

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1880
  • Professional Photographer and Workshop Leader
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan  Photography
Re: Change color labels?
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2018, 06:18:01 am »
If think things get a bit confused because you have duplicate colour names. Change the last three to something else and then you should find everything is working again.  Please note too that the numbers don't need to match (they are just the shortcut key number in LR).
Hayo Baan Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl
Blog: blog.hayobaan.nl
500px: 500px.com/HayoBaan
Facebook: facebook.com/HayoBaan

Offline markok

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Change color labels?
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2018, 06:53:16 am »
Thank you for your suggestion but in my case this unfortunately does not work?!
Have already tried every possible combination....

Bottom line - if the numbers PM and LR do not match then LR flags all color labels in WHITE...?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 17995
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Change color labels?
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2018, 11:10:07 am »
Thank you for your suggestion but in my case this unfortunately does not work?!
Have already tried every possible combination....

Bottom line - if the numbers PM and LR do not match then LR flags all color labels in WHITE...?

Lightroom doesn't use numbers for its color labels, it is completely name based.  You can use the snapshot button to the right of the color classes to choose the 'Adobe' setting (makes PM use the same label names as Lr's default.)

-Kirk

Offline Schnix

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Change color labels?
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2018, 03:17:08 pm »
I've got PM5 on macOS.

I am trying to use the Lightroom compatible color labels. I switch to them in the Preferences, hit "OK" and then go back to the photos. But I'm still presented with the default set of colors and labels, not the Lr ones. When I go back to Prefs, they're back to the PM default set. I'm using these with .orf and writing to sidecars. Why can't the Lr set stick in prefs? or am I missing something?

Are you using Adobe Lightroom Classic in a foreign language? If you do, the color labels in PM must match the name for the color in your language. For example: red label in PM must be titled with the german word "Rot", the yellow label must be described with "Gelb" and so on.