Author Topic: support lightroom color coding  (Read 10665 times)

Offline widphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
support lightroom color coding
« on: March 30, 2007, 02:54:33 PM »
Kirk,

Please add support for Lightroom's color coding in Photo Mechanic. Thanks. Russ

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20583
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2007, 03:14:09 PM »
Russ,

Please add support for Lightroom's color coding in Photo Mechanic.

In 4.5 we are now compatible with Bridge/Lightroom labels.  You have to be using XMP for your metadata and you need to make sure you use the same label names/color class labels in both programs and then they should sync up just fine.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline widphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2007, 01:54:30 PM »
How do I know which beta I have running?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20583
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2007, 02:05:48 PM »
Russ,

How do I know which beta I have running?

You could check the date of the application.

But all betas so far support the exchange of 5-star ratings and Color Class labels with Lightroom and Bridge.

Nothing has been changed or enhanced in this regard.

-Kirk

Offline widphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2007, 03:00:33 PM »
Kirk, I have yet to witness color class support in PM beta for LR color coding. Star ratings are supported. What am I missing here? Russ

Offline widphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2007, 03:08:33 PM »
capture showing both apps, have done what I can for settings and prefs, still no color codes in PM, but stars showed up automatically and instantly.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: March 31, 2007, 03:11:51 PM by widphoto »

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20583
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2007, 03:36:14 PM »
Russ,

capture showing both apps, have done what I can for settings and prefs, still no color codes in PM, but stars showed up automatically and instantly.

Did you do what I said you needed to do to make the labels match up?  You need to use the same label names in both apps.  You will either need to change PM's Color Class labels to match Lightroom's Labels, or vice versa.

Then it should work fine.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline widphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2007, 04:25:55 PM »
Russ,

Please add support for Lightroom's color coding in Photo Mechanic.

In 4.5 we are now compatible with Bridge/Lightroom labels.  You have to be using XMP for your metadata and you need to make sure you use the same label names/color class labels in both programs and then they should sync up just fine.

HTH,

-Kirk


Ah, got it, for those who are as lost as I was. Go to PM prefs and rename the color codes in PM to match the actual color, ie change "winner" to red, etc. Then all color settings match as Kirk said. Might be nice if PM did this out of the box. Thanks Kirk.

So I set PM to match LR settings as

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20583
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2007, 05:22:07 PM »
Russ,

Please add support for Lightroom's color coding in Photo Mechanic.

In 4.5 we are now compatible with Bridge/Lightroom labels.  You have to be using XMP for your metadata and you need to make sure you use the same label names/color class labels in both programs and then they should sync up just fine.

Ah, got it, for those who are as lost as I was. Go to PM prefs and rename the color codes in PM to match the actual color, ie change "winner" to red, etc. Then all color settings match as Kirk said. Might be nice if PM did this out of the box. Thanks Kirk.

I'm not sure that is really possible.  You can customize the Labels that you use in Bridge (and likely in LR too) so how is PM supposed to know what names to use?  We don't scan your hard drive to look for other applications settings...

-Kirk

Offline widphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2007, 05:27:00 PM »
why not just set "color" red to "text" red, green to green, etc right out of the box? That is what I meant.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20583
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2007, 05:30:08 PM »
why not just set "color" red to "text" red, green to green, etc right out of the box? That is what I meant.

Well, because our Color Class labels have always been what they've been and they predate the existence of Lightroom and (I think though I may be wrong) Bridge.  Why didn't they use ours?

-Kirk

Offline widphoto

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2007, 05:41:02 PM »
Ok, I concede the point here.

Offline pxlar8

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2008, 04:29:59 PM »
I'm having trouble getting color classes assigned in PM to show up in Lightroom. I've edited the labels to match precisely. Using PM 4.5.3.1 (Mac) and Lightroom 1.3.1 (Mac). Keywords and other textual metadata is tranferring ok, just not the color labels. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance.


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20583
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2008, 05:11:34 PM »
I'm having trouble getting color classes assigned in PM to show up in Lightroom. I've edited the labels to match precisely. Using PM 4.5.3.1 (Mac) and Lightroom 1.3.1 (Mac). Keywords and other textual metadata is tranferring ok, just not the color labels. What am I missing?

Are you setting PM to write out IPTC4XMP data to an XMP sidecar file (for RAW files) or embedded in your JPEG, DNG, or PSD files?

Lightroom will want to see that data in the XMP metadata.

-Kirk


Offline pxlar8

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: support lightroom color coding
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2008, 08:03:03 PM »
Yep, that's precisely what I was missing! Thanks!

Just in case anyone else runs into this issue, in PM Preferences under "When Writing IPTC/XMP" and "For Tiff-based RAW photos" the "Add Embedded IPTC4XMP" needs to be checked (that is, if you're using RAW).