Author Topic: Sorting photos for HDR and focus stacking processing  (Read 3740 times)

Offline vigneshsekar

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Sorting photos for HDR and focus stacking processing
« on: November 03, 2018, 04:52:51 PM »
Hello All,
I've been using Photomechanic for the past 5 months and still learning the capabilities. I just came back from a landscape photo trip and shot many compositions with HDR and focus stacking processing options. I would like these images to go through Aurora HDR for HDR and Helicon focus for focus stacking processing before sending to Lightroom. Ideally I would like to be able to save only these photos in a separate folder so it is easier to identify and load in the specific tools like Aurora HDR.

I was thinking of colour coding these photos in contact sheet for example red for focus stacking and purple for HDR. But I'm lost how to save these images in a separate folder. I would like these images to be in same format as shot which is RAW in my case. I will be grateful for suggestions to handle this efficiently.

Regards,
Vignesh

Offline jwvaughn

• Retired programmer
    • View Profile
Re: Sorting photos for HDR and focus stacking processing
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2018, 06:38:23 PM »
HI Vignesh,

I don't know of an automated way to do it but.  I start with what you suggest and mark my HDR and panoramas with different colors.  I then create sub folders named HDR and/or Panorama. Next I turn off all the colors (lower right corner of PM) leaving only one color selected. Then I select all the photos and move them to the correct sub folder. Repeat with a different color selected as required.

My folder arrangement is
  201811102 Description ->photos for that date with a short description
      Original -> all my raw images are loaded here
      HDR -> all the HDR raw images and the HDR images
      Panorama -> all the panorama raw images and the panoramas