Author Topic: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields  (Read 4297 times)

Offline Gruffer

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« on: October 06, 2015, 05:11:11 PM »
I'm wondering if it's possible to extract the GPS coordinates (when available), and have that convert to auto populated checked fields for City, Country etc...? It would be fabulous for auto filling in travel images.

Yes / No / Maybe?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19752
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2015, 06:59:04 PM »
I'm wondering if it's possible to extract the GPS coordinates (when available), and have that convert to auto populated checked fields for City, Country etc...? It would be fabulous for auto filling in travel images.

Yes / No / Maybe?

Yes, it is possible to write such a feature.  I don't know when we'll add it though.

-Kirk

Offline Gary_G

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2015, 08:06:01 PM »
Kirk;

I fully understand that you're probably working full out on other issues at the moment. However; I tend to agree that a reverse-geocoding function would be very useful now that GPS systems are both built into and available for use with modern cameras. For what it's worth, I don't really want to use LightRoom to reverse geocode. I prefer to keep my data outside a programs internal database. I got burned by Aperture (and its internal database) when it was no longer supported by Apple and learned my lesson. Using GeoSetter, while an excellent program, adds one more place in the workflow where things could potentially go wrong. Right now, I'm leaning towards employing a very lean workflow; just Photo Mechanic -> ACR -> Photoshop (if and when needed).

Offline riecks

  • Beta Testers
  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2015, 03:46:32 PM »
Kirk:

I would like to "upvote" Gary's suggestion.  I think having such a "reverse geocoding" feature would be very useful to many photographers who are now using GPS as part of their standard routine.

David

Offline Michael

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2015, 04:32:24 AM »
Hello!

One more vote for this essential feature. Currently, I need a second program (GeoSetter from Friedemann Schmidt, excellent standalone program), which slow down the workflow, because that could happen already during ingest. For many years before geocoding became so popular I carry around with me a Garmin or Sony tracker. So GeoSetter was a program of the first hour, used until now. But it is to switch to a program more in the workflow. And in times editors cry even where the photos remain before they were photographed, every minute can help. ;-)

--Michael--

Offline jrp

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2016, 12:06:05 PM »
Further vote to spruce up GPS support.

Offline Ben Curtis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
    • View Profile
    • Snappertalk blog
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2016, 02:58:57 AM »
Another vote... might this happen?

Offline Bas de Meijer

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Bas Fotografie
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2019, 12:33:15 PM »
Wondering, will it be in PM6? This is a feature I've been waiting for a long time.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19752
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2019, 12:42:54 PM »
Wondering, will it be in PM6? This is a feature I've been waiting for a long time.

Yes, it will be in PM6.  The reverse gecocoding database runs on our own server, is free at this time, but we don't guarantee 100% uptime or that it will always be fast.

If usage outpaces the performance of our fairly high-end server we may have to throttle usage or purchase more servers and start a subscription service for the feature.

-Kirk
« Last Edit: March 06, 2019, 12:45:41 PM by Kirk Baker »

Offline TGeist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • GG-IMAGES :: Charlotte Wedding Photographer
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2019, 06:36:43 PM »
... The reverse gecocoding database runs on our own server, is free at this time, but we don't guarantee 100% uptime or that it will always be fast. ...

Doesn't Google offer access to a reverse geocoding database? I thought I read about that somewhere.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19752
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: GPS Info > Auto Populate City & Country Fields
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2019, 07:55:07 PM »
... The reverse gecocoding database runs on our own server, is free at this time, but we don't guarantee 100% uptime or that it will always be fast. ...

Doesn't Google offer access to a reverse geocoding database? I thought I read about that somewhere.

Yes, but it isn't inexpensive.

-Kirk