Author Topic: PM6 opens another copy  (Read 934 times)

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
PM6 opens another copy
« on: March 26, 2019, 07:34:24 AM »
I had a copy of pm6 open and popped an SD card into my card reader, it promptly opened another copy of PM6, so I have two copies open, I hope this isn't normal behavior.

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20592
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 08:17:20 AM »
What OS are you running?

-Kirk

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 08:30:12 AM »
Win 10

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20592
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2019, 09:02:18 AM »
Are you able to open multiple instances by other means?  Can you open PM6 and then open it again from the Start menu?

-Kirk

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2019, 09:55:24 AM »
eh, nope just tried opening from start menu and icon on desktop and doesn't do anything

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20592
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2019, 10:54:17 AM »
eh, nope just tried opening from start menu and icon on desktop and doesn't do anything

OK, so the duplicate app is launched from AutoPlay or by some other means?

-Kirk

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2019, 11:30:26 AM »
On insertion of an sd card or CF card I have autoplay set to open PM. If I have PM already open it will open a second instance.
I cannot replicate this any other way.

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2019, 02:26:50 PM »
I have found another way of opening two instances of PM6
Open PM6, double click on a folder full of images in the navigator sidebar, this will bring up the contact sheet of images
Double clicking on another folder will open a second copy of PM6 with both folders
Both copies have the two contact sheets showing
If I close the second contact sheet from the second instance it will close down altogether
The second contact sheet in the first copy is no longer showing
I hope you can follow that!

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20592
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2019, 02:36:18 PM »
I have found another way of opening two instances of PM6
Open PM6, double click on a folder full of images in the navigator sidebar, this will bring up the contact sheet of images
Double clicking on another folder will open a second copy of PM6 with both folders

Double-clicking on another folder within the Navigator of PM6 will open another copy of PM6?

Do you have some way of recording your screen to make a video that you could share with me?

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2019, 12:13:02 AM »
Double-clicking on another folder within the Navigator of PM6 will open another copy of PM6?
Yes
Do you have some way of recording your screen to make a video that you could share with me?
Best I can do I'm afraid, see attached

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2019, 02:44:23 AM »
This is getting silly now, If I double click on a folder in the navigator bar I can open an instance of PM6 every time, see below for 4 copies open!

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20592
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2019, 06:16:37 AM »
There is only one instance of Photo Mechanic running in those images that you've provided.  The representations of each of your contact sheet tabs that appear above the Photo Mechanic application icon in the taskbar are not different instances of Photo Mechanic.

You can prove this to yourself by opening the Windows Task Manager (Ctrl-Alt-Del) and looking for Photo Mechanic in the list of applications running on your system.  There should be only one.

I'm glad you posted a screen shot.  I have been scouring the code that makes sure only one instance of PM runs at a time and could find no fault with it.

-Kirk

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2019, 06:35:21 AM »
Ah ok thanks  :-[ but I still have the problem of PM6 crashing when I insert a card in the card reader, any progress on that one?

Online Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20592
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2019, 06:38:54 AM »
Ah ok thanks  :-[ but I still have the problem of PM6 crashing when I insert a card in the card reader, any progress on that one?

No, not yet.  We're unable to reproduce.  Please post a screen shot of what PM looks like when it has crashed.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline cjpl2003

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: PM6 opens another copy
« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2019, 07:50:32 AM »
Seconds after I insert a card pm6 starts and immediately closes down, then I get bugsplat