Photo Mechanic > General Discussion

Photo Mechanic and Capture One 12 Workflow

(1/3) > >>

Curriei:
I am a freelance photographer mainly working in the Australian News Media Industry and I am seriously considering moving to Capture One 12 from Adobe.I like the option of owning the licence outright compared with Adobe's on going monthly subscription.I understand there will be a learning curve with Capture One but I am after any feedback from anyone who has made the move and uses Photo Mechanic with their workflow in conjunction with Capture One.
Many Thanks.

mklass:
I just started trialing Capture One. It is a daunting change.

I don't plan to use it for cataloging, only as an editor.

I have not been able to get C1 to launch with the file I want to edit using PM's Edit with function.

That said, even in "Session"mode, it will create 4 files for every image in the directory of the file you are editing, even if you only open 1 image.  One is a settings file (cos), another is a thumbnail (cot), then there are 2 proxy files for each image (coffee and cop). The average of this 4 is about 1.5MB per image. There is no way to prevent C1 from creating these, and it does not delete them when you close. You need to delete them manually. Fortunately they are all in a sub-folder of the folder containing the images.

Other issues I have found in 1 short time of trialing:

The image I am working was taken with a Nikon camera and Sigma lens. The C1 lens profiles that I am looking at for this particular image show the lens profile for a Canon, and other Sigma lenses for Nikon. There is no Nikon/Sigma combination for the camera and lens that I used.