Author Topic: toggle selection and loupe  (Read 4637 times)

Offline underscore

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
toggle selection and loupe
« on: August 06, 2019, 10:46:28 AM »
not sure if this is just a misunderstanding or a feature request...

with "z" I can toggle selection and loupe cursor modes in the contact sheet

why not using selection as standard mode but whenever I click a SELECTED picture, the loupe is shown?

would basically make the "z" toggle superfluous

btw, can the loupe be configured in any way? size/orientation of source area and critical focus mask as in C1 would be nice

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24277
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2019, 11:29:14 AM »
not sure if this is just a misunderstanding or a feature request...

with "z" I can toggle selection and loupe cursor modes in the contact sheet

why not using selection as standard mode but whenever I click a SELECTED picture, the loupe is shown?

That would completely break drag and drop moving of images.  And I think many would find it less than desirable to have a zoom start just because you clicked on a selected image.  Also, with your method you would have to select an image first (and this could cause the loss of an existing selection that took time to make) just to zoom.

btw, can the loupe be configured in any way? size/orientation of source area and critical focus mask as in C1 would be nice

No. The size and orientation are chosen dynamically to give you the largest possible zoomed area without covering up the thumbnail that you're zooming.

-Kirk

Offline underscore

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2019, 10:55:36 AM »
why should I ever drag and drop an image in PM6?
I select my best shots, attach my IPTC template and transfer them to the world ASAP...

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24277
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2019, 11:03:15 AM »
why should I ever drag and drop an image in PM6?
I select my best shots, attach my IPTC template and transfer them to the world ASAP...

Believe me, people do drag to rearrange their photos, to move them from folder to folder, etc.

-Kirk

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2550
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2019, 02:17:39 PM »
Believe me, people do drag to rearrange their photos, to move them from folder to folder, etc.

Indeed, I do this very regularly! Apart from making arrangements and the other things Kirk mentioned, I also very much like the ability to drag an image onto a terminal window to work with it on the command line.
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline underscore

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2019, 01:53:20 AM »
Aha.

If anyone believes that drag and drop is a good workflow, I can accept that but would then
prefer the loupe with shift or alt or command or right click but not with a toggle key.

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2550
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2019, 02:16:18 AM »
If anyone believes that drag and drop is a good workflow, I can accept that but would then
prefer the loupe with shift or alt or command or right click but not with a toggle key.

Hmm, yes, perhaps enabling loop mode with a modifier key would be a good idea; that would give you easy access (better than the toggle, actually). But definitely not on the right click; that's reserved for context menus.
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24277
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2019, 07:27:53 AM »
Aha.

If anyone believes that drag and drop is a good workflow, I can accept that but would then
prefer the loupe with shift or alt or command or right click but not with a toggle key.

I suggest that you make a feature request.  There is a board specifically for this purpose.

-Kirk

Offline underscore

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: toggle selection and loupe
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2019, 09:43:20 AM »
Thank you - will do it.