Author Topic: how to work on raw file  (Read 3970 times)

Offline sfreund

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
how to work on raw file
« on: August 06, 2019, 06:52:20 PM »
Hi
I'm new to PM. Using PM 6 on Mac 10.12.6

I have ingested images that are JPG + raw files. When I save them to work on further in Photoshop, I seem to only be able to save the jpg. How do I access the raw file to do further processing? I seem to be missing something.

Thanks!

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: how to work on raw file
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2019, 09:57:41 PM »
I have ingested images that are JPG + raw files. When I save them to work on further in Photoshop, I seem to only be able to save the jpg. How do I access the raw file to do further processing? I seem to be missing something.

Photoshop (the ACR plugin) won't modify RAW files.  You can make adjustments and then open the image to edit in Photoshop proper, but you can only save your Photoshop edits in a non-RAW format like PSD or TIFF (or JPEG but that's a lossy format.)

Photoshop ACR will save your adjustments (toning, exposure compensation, etc.) to an XMP sidecar file (same name as RAW file but with a .XMP file extension) and you can reopen the RAW file in ACR and continue to make adjustments.

Does this answer your question?

-Kirk

Offline sfreund

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2019, 02:15:43 AM »
Hi,

Thanks for your reply, but I do understand how ACR works. That's not what I was asking. I guess I didn't articulate the question properly. So here it goes again:

When I wish to process a photo from PM, I save it to another folder. The photo shows as a RAW+JPG. I choose the TIFF or PSD format. Now I want to save and work on the RAW file, not the JPG. But here's what I see on the PM screen (see attached screenshot).