Author Topic: PM6: performance  (Read 2131 times)

Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
PM6: performance
« on: January 29, 2020, 12:57:56 PM »
Hi

I'm a longtime user of PM and I'm using now PM6 on an iMac late 2015, Mojave, 32 GB Ram.
Everytime, when I'm switching from PM to another program and spend some time in there and then go back to PM, it takes about 5 seconds minimum for PM to be ready.
It looks like as if PM is rebuilding something in the background. I do not remember this behavour from versions up to 5.
This is annoying.
What can I do?
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21909
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6: performance
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2020, 01:09:08 PM »

Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
Re: PM6: performance
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2020, 11:13:13 PM »
Hi

there seems to be no compressed memory during the spinningwheel ...
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21909
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: PM6: performance
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2020, 09:12:41 AM »
OK, so the other thing that can be happening is that by default PM rescans all of the folders that it is currently browsing.  You can turn off this automatic rescan if you want (or at least temporarily to find out if it is the cause) by going to the Contact Sheet page of the Preferences dialog and clearing the check box labeled "Rescan on resume".

If turning off that check box solves the problem then either you have a number of tabs open or one or more of them takes a long time to check for directory contents.  PM5 (and PM4 for that matter) also would have this problem on resume.

-Kirk