Author Topic: Questions from a newbie  (Read 6640 times)

Offline fourdogslong

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Questions from a newbie
« on: May 08, 2020, 08:16:41 AM »
Hi, I'm new to Photo Mechanic, using the trial right now.
I use Capture One 20 for my RAW developing and rely on folders for my organization. I'm not a pro, photo is a hobby to me so most of my photos are either from everyday life or from the studio which I setup every now and then on special occasions like my daughter's birthdays, stuff like that.

I searched through the manual, didn't read the whole thing I admit because that's a lot to take in but I searched and couldn't find answers to my questions so here we go.

On the metadata window, there's a little map icon that we can activate but I see no mention anywhere about what this does, anybody can tell me? (I'm attaching a screenshot as reference)

I'm putting metadata in my pictures, I have over 20 000 to do so I'd like to make sure I got the most efficient workflow. I want to make sure I put the desired info in the right places so that they are as future proof as possible and readable in other software including Capture One.
The main info I want is Event name (ex: Matt's birthday), Description (ex: That photo was shot before we had cake), Person shown in the image (ex: Matt, John, Jack), Keyword (ex: Anniversary, Party, Family), Location (ex: house, city, state, country) and GPS coordinates.

I did a test where in every field of Photo Mechanic I copied the field's title, for example: In "Image Content / Description/Caption:" I entered: Description/Caption, I did that for every field. Then I opened that image in Capture One to see what was readable or not. There's a lot missing, like Persons shown and Event for example which I find disappointing.