Author Topic: Troubles syncing color tag and rating on scanned tif files between PM6 to C1  (Read 2868 times)

Offline erchdk

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
I started shooting analog and scanning it. I work in sessions in CaptureOne and want my workflow to be the same when just photographing with digital; So photo/scan, using PM6 to ingesting into CaptureOne session folder, culling, color tagging and rating in PM6 with full sync turned on in CaptureOne Pro. It works flawless with raw photo files, but I have lots of delay and troubles sync rating and color tag between PM6 and C1 with tif files.
The only way to make C1 register color tags and ratings is to open another sessions and then reopen the session with the scanned tif files.

I attach my preferences in both PM6 and C1. Does anyone have an idea as what I need to tick/adjust in either programs?

Thanks in advance!

Offline erchdk

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Nobody has any insights?

Offline Odd Skjaeveland

• View Profile
Nobody has any insights?

Me, not much.
C1 never writes to existing image files. You can only make C1 copy metadata from its internal Metadata storage (in Session or Catalog) to XMP sidecars. "Sync" in C1 lingo. PM can  pick up C1 metadata written to XMP sidecars , sync'ed, by C1. Provided C1 writes to a XMP element that PM reads. Sounds obvious, but there is a thing with image file type on the PM side of the fence. PM does not bother with XMP sidecars for some image file types. I don't know about TIFFs, but I had to give up on transferring metadata from C1 to PM for DNGs. PM reads DNG metadata from the DNG file only, PM ignores DNG XMP sidecars.