Author Topic: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?  (Read 866 times)

Offline Henry Gilbey

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2020, 01:35:58 AM »
Thank you Kirk, hope this attachment works?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21717
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2020, 12:17:52 PM »
Henry,

Thank you Kirk, hope this attachment works?

Yes.  Did the non-responsive UI problem happen again during that run?

-Kirk

Offline KeithRJ

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
    • Keith & Vlasta Ross-Jones
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #17 on: October 16, 2020, 07:18:35 PM »
I have had an unresponsive UI a couple of times but can't reproduce but appears to happen on scan to Catalog. I will let you know if it happens again and then if I can reproduce.

Offline Henry Gilbey

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2020, 04:20:26 AM »
Yes, and please excuse my ignorance here, but these files I have been uploading to you on here - what are they for and what can you tell from them?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21717
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #19 on: October 19, 2020, 09:44:24 AM »
Yes, and please excuse my ignorance here, but these files I have been uploading to you on here - what are they for and what can you tell from them?

They contain debugging information useful to us software developers.

-Kirk

Offline Henry Gilbey

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #20 on: October 19, 2020, 10:16:59 AM »
Understood, sorry, in my ignorance I thought that these uploads would be telling you why this Sync Catalogs doesn't seem to be working for me IF I have gone and added new images to my catalog..........

Which I just have, and once again I can bring up the Sync Catalogs box but I can't press any of the buttons save for the red X at the top left to close it down.

It's a pain once I have copied a bunch of images within PM6+ to then have to go and open up where I have saved them, find the ones that have just been added, select them, and then right click to "Include in Catalog".

And once I have done this, I can open up the Sync Catalogs box and I can now click the various buttons - but there is no point clicking Start now because I have had to manually add my new images to my catalog.

Am I doing something wrong here? Loving the new program, it's becoming more and more important for my work, but with how I import and process and save to specific image folders, there doesn't seem to be an easy way to add images to my catalog................

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21717
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #21 on: October 19, 2020, 10:25:47 AM »
Henry,

Understood, sorry, in my ignorance I thought that these uploads would be telling you why this Sync Catalogs doesn't seem to be working for me IF I have gone and added new images to my catalog..........

Which I just have, and once again I can bring up the Sync Catalogs box but I can't press any of the buttons save for the red X at the top left to close it down.

Now that you've reproduced the problem, can you post the logs again? Use the "Reveal Support Data..." command on the Help menu to get the updated zipped log file.  Please post it here.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline Henry Gilbey

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #22 on: October 19, 2020, 10:27:16 AM »
Here you go, and thank you

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21717
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #23 on: October 20, 2020, 11:54:47 AM »
Henry,

Here you go, and thank you

Thank you for the log files.  We'll have to add more logging to figure out what is going on, but in the meantime, we've noticed that your catalog may benefit by using the "Reintegrate Forgotten Catalog" button in the maintenance section of your catalog in the Catalog Management window.

Catalog->Manage Catalogs...

Find your catalog in the Local Catalogs section.  Expand the options for your catalog by clicking on the triangle to the left of your catalog.  Then click on the triangle to the left of the label "Maintenance" and click on the "Reintegrate Forgotten Catalog" button.  When it finishes it may tell you that some of your images are missing.

-Kirk

Offline Henry Gilbey

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #24 on: October 20, 2020, 12:40:05 PM »
Thanks Kirk, have done what you suggested, zero files missing...........

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21717
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Catalog Sync sometimes gets "stuck"?
« Reply #25 on: Today at 12:21:33 PM »
Henry,

What kind of input device are you using?  Some other users are reporting difficulties with the UI being unresponsive and they're using Wacom tablets.

Thanks,

-Kirk