Author Topic: Novice user - catalog update question and maintenance  (Read 1183 times)

Offline Catkin

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Novice user - catalog update question and maintenance
« on: December 01, 2021, 06:07:55 AM »
I'm new to PM+ having used PM6 for a couple of years. After populating a small test catalog, I have now uploaded one years images, but I have already run into trouble with my larger catalog requiring maintenance. I assume I need to do this re-integration as per screenshot to get myself out of this mess?

Is there a best practice for updating the catalog with images that have been added to it since it was first set up? e.g. I go from PM+ to Photolab, edit and save a full size jpeg in the same folder. How do I get that jpeg to appear in the original folder catalog? I was experimenting on how to do this when I have upset the catalog. I'm just trying to find my way before I register all of my other photos into the catalog.

I see I can go into catalog sync and then navigate to the folder in Finder but that requires many clicks and I was hoping to stay within PM+. I tried right clicking within the folder path in the browse on the catalog side and right clicking on the folder in the browse part and 'include to catalog sync'.

Also, a second (and possible stupid) question - is there a way to know on which disk an image resides if the disk is not currently mounted?

... and a third question... do you have to delete AND forget a catalog to make it go away  :)

Many thanks for any help.

Offline Catkin

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Re: Novice user - catalog update question and maintenance
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2021, 08:14:37 AM »
Just to update, I reintegrated and the catalog is fine, but I'm still not quite sure what went awry.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2021, 09:15:57 AM »