Author Topic: Need help with understanding GPS functionality  (Read 2020 times)

Offline Big-Gee

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Need help with understanding GPS functionality
« on: November 26, 2020, 03:30:35 PM »
Hello...

I am new to Photo Mechanic and doing a trial of Version 6 on a windows PC running windows 10 version 1909.

The Problem:

I have log files that were recorded in a Solmeta Geotracker 2 Pro. I want resolve the logs to GPS coordinates so that they can eventually be added to photos where missing and I can plot the journey on a map.
People have pointed me to Photo Mechanic to do this.

In looing at the interface upon launch of PM6 it is not obvious how to do this.
I searched online help for GPS and found a topic  "importing GPS Coordinates".

what came back appears to be what I want to do, but not sure.
The textual part of the help states:

"The Import GPS Coordinates dialog can import GPS logs in the GPX and NMEA formats. In order to add coordinates, you will also need to install the free app, GPS Babel.

In order to load your GPS logs, you need to copy your GPS log from your GPS data logging device to your computer’s hard drive, or if your GPS data logging device acts as a USB storage device, such as the AMOD AGL3080 device, then you can access your logs directly.

Use the Add... button to choose and load your logs."

I ran the attached log file thru GPS Babel (NMEA format in and out.  When naming the output file (attached as well),  I made the file type ".txt"

At this point I assume that this is where I can "ADD" the logs using the ADD Button

In the documentation it show this information in the attached Jpeg image.

I cannot find this anywhere in PM 6.

Can someone please help me with this.

1. am I doing things correctly in the correct order, based on my understanding of GPS Babel?

2. is the output log file correct based on the input file?

3. Where is the ADD button to suck in the GPS coordinates, and where are they stored?