Author Topic: catalog metadata gathering NAS  (Read 5647 times)

Offline webmstrk9

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
catalog metadata gathering NAS
« on: December 02, 2020, 03:45:01 PM »
I'm new to the Photo Mechanic world and jumped in feet first as I was looking for a cataloging system. I had used Lightroom in the past but as my LR catalog grew, performance started degrade, the same can be said about CaptureOne with their catalog.

So I'm in the process of my 7th attempt to scan my NAS for my catalog, but have noticed the "catalog metadata gathering" would want to process at less than 1/sec, which would equate to approx 17+ estimated days to complete. I would come back a few hours later and it would be processing at 1.3/sec with an adjusted ETC, but return later, it would drop to .3/sec.

Do I just need to let it run its course or can I add another hamster to the wheel? I've adjusted the priority to 10 for this with the above results.

Thanks in advance

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: catalog metadata gathering NAS
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2020, 04:25:11 PM »
I'm new to the Photo Mechanic world and jumped in feet first as I was looking for a cataloging system. I had used Lightroom in the past but as my LR catalog grew, performance started degrade, the same can be said about CaptureOne with their catalog.

So I'm in the process of my 7th attempt to scan my NAS for my catalog, but have noticed the "catalog metadata gathering" would want to process at less than 1/sec, which would equate to approx 17+ estimated days to complete. I would come back a few hours later and it would be processing at 1.3/sec with an adjusted ETC, but return later, it would drop to .3/sec.

Do I just need to let it run its course or can I add another hamster to the wheel? I've adjusted the priority to 10 for this with the above results.