Author Topic: Serious cataloguing program?  (Read 7283 times)

Offline Fionanoc

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Serious cataloguing program?
« on: April 22, 2007, 03:17:49 AM »
Hi there,

I'm a Photo Mechanic user for over a year now and am very happy with the program.

Recently, however, I have the need to catalogue a very serious number of photo files- both scans from negative & transparency and digital (mostly Jpeg) and want to know if Photo Mechanic will serve my purposes well. I really do have aspirations to set up a huge photo data-base, which I eventually want to put out there as a commercial idea so I don't want to find that PM isn't up to the task when I'm half way through the project! I know of the Extensis and iView programs but really am at a loss as to which would best suit my needs and would appreciate any help you guys out there can offer. I'd like to keep it relatively simple- like, I can't see the need or usefullness of masses of 'metadata' etc and overly complex cross-referencing.

Thanks, in advance, for your kind attention,

Fionanoc
Dublin, Ireland.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Serious cataloguing program?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2007, 06:04:03 AM »
Fionanoc,

I'm a Photo Mechanic user for over a year now and am very happy with the program.