Author Topic: Photo Mechanic writing ACR data into my raw files?  (Read 2102 times)

Offline Elliot_n

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Photo Mechanic writing ACR data into my raw files?
« on: December 17, 2020, 05:26:42 AM »
(Photo Mechanic Version 5.0, build 19749 (20d085a), Mac 0S 10.13, Photoshop 21.2.4)

Hi

I’ve been a happy Photo Mechanic user for many years, sorting/rating Nikon nefs in PM, and then editing them in Photoshop ACR.

I recently ran into a problem. A client requested about 50 raw files from a shoot I did two years ago. (I wouldn't normally hand over raw files, but in this case it made sense.) I didn’t want to give the client the files with all my ACR adjustments, so I copied the nefs into a folder WITHOUT their corresponding xmp files.

But when I checked this folder of nefs in ACR on a different computer they opened with all my adjustments (brushes, gradients etc) still in place.

I’ve since done some tests with some fresh nefs, and this problem only seems to occur if I change the PM star/colour ratings AFTER the the nef has been edited in ACR. Unfortunately this is something I do a lot :(

Questions:

Why is this happening (I assume I’ve got my PM preferences set up incorrectly)?

I have many years of nefs that will be in this state - will the fact that PM seems to have written ACR data into the the nefs themselves affect their future readability?

Is there any way I can restore my nefs to their virgin state?

Many thanks for any advice :)

Online Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photo Mechanic writing ACR data into my raw files?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2020, 08:41:59 AM »
Elliot,

Why is this happening (I assume I’ve got my PM preferences set up incorrectly)?