Author Topic: Preview Generation Stuck  (Read 259 times)

Offline paul tolenaar

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Preview Generation Stuck
« on: January 11, 2021, 02:17:19 PM »
I started yesterday with PM+ and for a quick test I created a catalogue with about 60.000 jpg's. Everything went fine. Today I wanted to make the real big working catalogue of about 70.000 mostly tif's and 10% jpg's, and then I also encountered the preview generation problem. Is it a tif problem? Do I have to wait for an update or am I doing something wrong?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 22282
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2021, 02:34:15 PM »
Paul,

I started yesterday with PM+ and for a quick test I created a catalogue with about 60.000 jpg's. Everything went fine. Today I wanted to make the real big working catalogue of about 70.000 mostly tif's and 10% jpg's, and then I also encountered the preview generation problem. Is it a tif problem? Do I have to wait for an update or am I doing something wrong?

We will have to fix it on our end.

-Kirk

Offline Bill Kelly

  • Software Developer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2021, 05:25:00 PM »
Hi Paul,

Just to follow up – this issue is our top-priority bug.

Progress has been slow because we have so far been unable to reproduce the problem on our development or test systems.

However, we are continuing to attempt to narrow down the issue.

We hope to have it identified and fixed as soon as possible.

Regards,

Bill

Offline sandapanda

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2021, 05:45:51 PM »
Not sure if its exactly the same issue, but wanted to report on here.
1)Started yesterday with PM+ on OSX to evaluate for my use. Starting with a library of ~80,000 images on a NAS. Starting catalog sync.
2)Catalog sync completed. Metadata and preview generation background tasks kicked off.
3)Metadata completed, preview generation still going on as I went to bed.
4)During the night NAS has disconnected. Not all previews were generated (if I disconnect the network, some previews aren't there, some are there with the yellow dot).
5)Preview generation background tasks is green.
6)When I connect the NAS back, I have no way to re-trigger preview generation (as far as I can tell) nor does it start by itself (outside of full catalog rebuild which I want to avoid for now).

Offline Bill Kelly

  • Software Developer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2021, 08:40:10 PM »
Hi,

6)When I connect the NAS back, I have no way to re-trigger preview generation (as far as I can tell) nor does it start by itself (outside of full catalog rebuild which I want to avoid for now).

Try a Catalog Sync, in Full Sync mode.

It should detect missing previews and regenerate them.


Offline sandapanda

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2021, 11:31:44 AM »
Full Sync has worked great. The preview generation task has been kicked off. Thank you.

Offline paul tolenaar

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2021, 12:05:18 PM »
Thanks Kirk and Bill, I'm sure you'll fix it!

Offline paul tolenaar

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #7 on: Today at 02:56:00 AM »
Hi there, I'm still having the preview generation stuck problem, despite the latest 5464 build. Yesterday I catalogued a hard disk with RAW only ( dng) and everything went fine ( about 30.000) . Then I tried to catalogue another disk with mostly tiff's and 10% jpeg's and it failed again to make the preview's. Stopped after 5 batches. I'll send the PM log in an attachment. Kind regards,  Paul

Offline paul tolenaar

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Preview Generation Stuck
« Reply #8 on: Today at 03:04:40 AM »
Couldn't upload the attachment in the previous message ( using Safari) so now with Chrome..