Author Topic: IPTC-Error after opening the Files in PS CS2  (Read 3521 times)

Offline Charlton

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
IPTC-Error after opening the Files in PS CS2
« on: April 20, 2007, 09:20:36 AM »
Hi there,

I got a problem with the IPTC-Data... I ingest the files and adding IPTC-Data automatically by using the Stationary Pad. After that I open the JPGs in PS CS2 to crop them. Then I save the Files via PS. Now the IPTCs are wrong:

"Müller" appears as "M,ller"

Must I change something in the > Preferences > IPTC?

Thanks in advance
Charlton




Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21205
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC-Error after opening the Files in PS CS2
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2007, 09:50:29 AM »
Charlton,

I got a problem with the IPTC-Data... I ingest the files and adding IPTC-Data automatically by using the Stationary Pad. After that I open the JPGs in PS CS2 to crop them. Then I save the Files via PS. Now the IPTCs are wrong:

"Müller" appears as "M,ller"

Must I change something in the > Preferences > IPTC?

Do the captions appear correct when you look at them in Photoshop before you re-save the file?
What version of Photo Mechanic are you running?
What operating system are you running?

-Kirk

Offline Charlton

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC-Error after opening the Files in PS CS2
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2007, 10:15:34 AM »
Hi Kirk,

I don´t know - I havent watched them in PS. I run PM 4.5 and XP Home.

Now I tested and it looks quiet good... could the problem be, that I have copied the same pictures more than one time in the same folder? E.g.

picture_001.jpg
picture_001A.jpg
picture_001B.jpg
...


Regards
Charlton

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21205
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC-Error after opening the Files in PS CS2
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2007, 11:19:14 AM »
Charlton,

I don´t know - I havent watched them in PS. I run PM 4.5 and XP Home.

In order to get to the bottom of this issue, I'll need you to view the "File Info..." in Photoshop to see if your accented characters are looking correct.

-Kirk

Offline dennis

  • President
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 412
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC-Error after opening the Files in PS CS2
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2007, 12:58:07 PM »
Charlton,

In the IPTC/XMP preferences in PM, do you have the "Write IPTC as Unicode" option checked?  If so, this could be the issue since Photoshop doesn't understand Unicode IPTC (although they do understand XMP of course which is Unicode).  I don't know if this issue ever got fixed for PS CS3 or not (we alerted Adobe about it some time ago).  So your options would be to uncheck this box or embed XMP (perhaps only XMP).

But Kirk is right - please look at the File Info in PS to see what it shows.

--dennis

Offline Charlton

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC-Error after opening the Files in PS CS2
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2007, 05:49:20 AM »
@ Kirk: everything looks fine now.

@ Dennis: "Unicode" was/is unchecked.

Regards
Charlton