Author Topic: extreme slow running in PM6+  (Read 1308 times)

Offline DavidHoffmanuk

• View Profile
extreme slow running in PM6+
« on: April 06, 2021, 10:36:02 AM »
Can anyone help with this extreme slowdown in PM6+?

Mac Pro 5,1 OS 10.14.6, 32 GB RAM, GPU Radeon RX 580 8 GB. I’m using build 5724 but I was using 5716 with the same problem.

I’m a photographer and I’m making a new catalog to hold all of my images and their variants, that’s about 200k files spread over 4 drives. All have some IPTC metadata embedded, some have xmp files.

2 of the image containing drives are external USB3 via a card in the Mac, the other 2 are internal SATA spinning disks. The app is on a SATA SSD with the OS and other apps. The catalog is on a 1TB SSD, also internal SATA. The speed of ingest doesn’t seem much different between the internal and external drives.

I deleted my previous test catalogs and selected the drives to scan for a new catalog this morning and PM began the ingestion showing about 3 days for metadata gathering. I thought that was bad but it’s been growing all day and now, about 9 hours later, it’s showing
“About 1054950 items remaining (0.2/sec, est. 55.5 days)”
That’s far more than the number of images. Are these ‘items’ individual metadata fields? If not, what?

Probably related, is that whenever I return to a PM6+ contact sheet from the finder or another app the images all go blank and I get a message that it’s preloading metadata. That takes 1 – 2 minutes, then it re-sorts the images. If I go to do something else in another app then, when I activate PM6+ again it restarts the preloading. I’m not actually using the catalog yet but this would make it impossible.

Reintegration took about 8 hours on a previous test catalog so whatever is slowing PM down affects all aspects of the catalog. Ingesting from a card to a folder with PM6 is as fast as usual.