Author Topic: Best practice to use + with a Synology NAS?  (Read 4304 times)

Offline cxo

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Best practice to use + with a Synology NAS?
« on: May 21, 2021, 07:06:36 AM »
Hi, there, I am new to this...

My NAS is a Synology 214+, it holds ca. 120,000 photos (RAW, TIFF; JPG); my computer is a brand new Macbook Air M1, both are connected via GBit. Unfortunately, Synology NAS systems do not allow any kind of direct access, only via network. When it comes to boatloads of photos, even GBit is slow. Did I mention the Synology has no 5GBit or 10 GBit connection? Only 1 GBit.

The first lesson I had to learn was: switch off AFP, use SMB to connect, it is much faster :-)

Well, faster... PM+ still gives an estimation of 1.6 days for metadata gathering, and I guess preview generation will be on top...

Are there any recommendations how to get the most speed and fun out of this?

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Best practice to use + with a Synology NAS?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2021, 09:23:22 AM »
Hi, there, I am new to this...

My NAS is a Synology 214+, it holds ca. 120,000 photos (RAW, TIFF; JPG); my computer is a brand new Macbook Air M1, both are connected via GBit. Unfortunately, Synology NAS systems do not allow any kind of direct access, only via network. When it comes to boatloads of photos, even GBit is slow. Did I mention the Synology has no 5GBit or 10 GBit connection? Only 1 GBit.

The first lesson I had to learn was: switch off AFP, use SMB to connect, it is much faster :-)

Well, faster... PM+ still gives an estimation of 1.6 days for metadata gathering, and I guess preview generation will be on top...

Are there any recommendations how to get the most speed and fun out of this?

If the speed of the connection to the data is slow, then building the catalog will be slow.  There's no settings that can improve this.