Author Topic: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata  (Read 2881 times)

Offline deryck@kdphoto.co.za

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« on: June 30, 2021, 11:41:44 PM »
I upgraded to the latest version and yesterday it would not upload. so I copied the files across using microsoft then tried to load the metadata but get this error in the attachment.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24506
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2021, 08:04:54 AM »
I upgraded to the latest version and yesterday it would not upload. so I copied the files across using microsoft then tried to load the metadata but get this error in the attachment.

What wouldn't upload?

The problem displayed in the dialog indicates that PM cannot create files in the directory that you're browsing.

I'd like to see your Photo Mechanic log.  In Photo Mechanic go to the Help menu and choose "Reveal Support Data..." and moments later a Windows Explorer window will come forward with the zipped log file selected.  Use the 'Attachments and other options' link when you're composing your reply to this message and there you'll be able to upload your zipped PM log file.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24506
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2021, 01:45:03 PM »
How much disk space does the drive that you're working with have left?

-Kirk

Offline deryck@kdphoto.co.za

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2021, 07:02:44 AM »
I have 24.7 GB on the SSD drive I use in my laptop
Attached are the logs

Offline Jerry H

  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 228
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2021, 09:28:39 AM »
Thank you for the log file. I'm seeing problems with Photo Mechanic being unable to open it's own temp files. It appears as though some other app is interfering.

Are you running any Antivirus applications other than Windows Defender? If so, does the issue persist if you disable your AV apps?

Do you have any apps other than Photo Mechanic browsing these folders? I recommend closing all other applications to see if that resolves the issue.

HTH,
Jerry


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24506
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2021, 11:19:18 AM »
Deryck,

I have 24.7 GB on the SSD drive I use in my laptop

Is that the C:\ drive?

To confirm: You're saying that you have 24.7GB free space on the drive?

-Kirk

Offline deryck@kdphoto.co.za

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2021, 02:22:51 AM »
Yes it is my C drive
This laptop is for taking photos, ingesting and captioning and uploading as well as emails and writing when I travel

Offline deryck@kdphoto.co.za

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2021, 02:27:21 AM »
No antivirus or other software or configurations have changed since before the upgrade when it worked perfectly with the last version of Photo Mechanic.
Can I revert to the previous level?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 24506
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Getting errors ingesting or loading metadata
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2021, 03:53:47 PM »
No antivirus or other software or configurations have changed since before the upgrade when it worked perfectly with the last version of Photo Mechanic.
Can I revert to the previous level?

Yes.  All builds are posted here: http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?board=15.0

-Kirk