Author Topic: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog  (Read 1545 times)

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23226
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #15 on: August 30, 2021, 05:10:50 PM »
Mark,

fwiw, here's another instance (I wont send any more unless it's significantly different)

On the next one, can you note the time of the following:

1) Time of the hang occurring.
2) Time when you clicked on the Abort button
3) Time that you Force Quit the app

Thanks,

-Kirk
 

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2021, 09:42:34 PM »
Kirk,

Ok the freeze occurred at 9:37pm.  Attempt to abort also at 9:37, about 15 seconds later.  Force quit at 9:38.

The freezes seem to happen more regularly now, almost every time I try to move files in and out of catalogs and collections.

best
Mark


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23226
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2021, 09:34:42 AM »
Mark,

Ok the freeze occurred at 9:37pm.  Attempt to abort also at 9:37, about 15 seconds later.  Force quit at 9:38.

The freezes seem to happen more regularly now, almost every time I try to move files in and out of catalogs and collections.

Here is what is in the log at 9:37PM:

[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.424][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:264 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() called by AddPhotosToCatalog::AddCommon()
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.425][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:268 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() processing single cell
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.431][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:273 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() processing single cell
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.431][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:275 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() no preload needed for single cell, not a standin
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.431][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:288 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() adding item, local:yes, local_remote:no
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.431][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:309 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() no preload needed, calling filter for all items.
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.431][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:313 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() filtering completed.
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:15.432][10d4705c0][5804620] DocumentMetadataPreload.cpp:317 DocumentMetadataPreload::PreloadDocumentItems() completed, returning result: 0 to AddPhotosToCatalog::AddCommon()
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:17.617][7000116fd000][5808424] [TIMING] AddPhotosToCatalogWorker::append_rec() iip->Serialize() [1] 0.000163
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:17.618][7000116fd000][5808424] [TIMING] AddPhotosToCatalogWorker::DoWork() add item 0.000460
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:17.624][7000116fd000][5808424] [TIMING] AddPhotosToCatalogWorker::DoWork() add batch 0.006427
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:17.674][7000116fd000][5808312] [TIMING] AddPhotosToCatalogWorker::DoWork() send batch 0.050105
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:17.674][7000116fd000][5808312] [TIMING] AddPhotosToCatalogWorker::DoWork() 0.056873
[Mon Aug-30-2021 21:37:17.724][10d4705c0][5800184] AddPhotosToCatalog.cpp:415 reissue_repaint_collections(), scheduling reissue on all collections

Looks like only one image was being processed and that it processed successfully.  Did you do another operation shortly thereafter (still in the minute of 9:37)?

-Kirk

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2021, 11:46:01 AM »
hi Kirk
The hang happens within a couple of seconds of when I try to add or remove the images.  As far as I know, I dont do any other operation during this time.  And the adding or removing that causes the hang is ultimately successful -- the pics and the metadata seem to end up where I want them.   It's just that I frequently have to restart the app and reopen the catalog/collection to continue my work.

Im turning off all my system extensions to see if that has any beneficial effect.

-mark


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23226
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2021, 01:15:17 PM »
Mark,

The hang happens within a couple of seconds of when I try to add or remove the images.  As far as I know, I dont do any other operation during this time.  And the adding or removing that causes the hang is ultimately successful -- the pics and the metadata seem to end up where I want them.   It's just that I frequently have to restart the app and reopen the catalog/collection to continue my work.

OK.  I see that I wasn't clear in my question.  In the minute of 9:37, did you process (add) one image only or did you add the one image and then select some more images and try to add them after you added the one image?  I'm trying to find out if there was a possible second set of image(s) that were added and there was no output at all in the log for adding them.

-Kirk

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2021, 01:19:32 PM »
Kirk,
I see.  No, it was just one image.

Mark

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23226
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2021, 01:35:06 PM »
Mark,

I see.  No, it was just one image.

I'm thinking that it would be worthwhile to do a screen share session and you can demonstrate the issue to me.  Do you have a fairly fast internet connection?

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2021, 02:15:33 PM »
Kirk
That should be no problem; I do have a pretty fast fiber connection.   Since restarting after turning off the system extensions, however, I havent been able to make it reoccur yet, although I have not been using it heavily as Im working on something else in a different app right now.  If and when it starts happening again regularly, can we arrange a time to share the screen?

thanks
Mark

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23226
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2021, 03:01:49 PM »
Mark,

That should be no problem; I do have a pretty fast fiber connection.   Since restarting after turning off the system extensions, however, I havent been able to make it reoccur yet, although I have not been using it heavily as Im working on something else in a different app right now.  If and when it starts happening again regularly, can we arrange a time to share the screen?

Yes, absolutely.  Click on my name to the left of this message and send me a personal message and we'll arrange the details privately.

-Kirk

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2021, 04:05:47 PM »
ok sounds good

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #25 on: September 01, 2021, 05:36:06 PM »
hi Kirk
Had a different instance just now.  I tried to option click to select all my 5 star shots in a collection and it froze. The selected images just showed up as empty frames.  All my system extensions are off.   I have to head out now but I will try to recreate tomorrow and will PM you so I can show you via screen share.

best
Mark

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #26 on: September 01, 2021, 09:15:07 PM »
Kirk

See attached .mov.    I got it to hang the more common way, when removing a pic from a collection.   I didnt click the Abort button when recording the video, but when clicked it just blinked and did nothing, as usual, so I restarted the app and retrieved the log.

-mark

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23226
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #27 on: September 02, 2021, 08:43:09 AM »
Mike,

That's very strange.  While I wish I could see the entire progress dialog in your video, I can see that it says "...35 selected items..." when you actually have no items selected at all (at least that's what the status bar says at the bottom of the Contact Sheet window.)  I'll assume that it really says "Getting metadata for 0 of 35 selected items...".  If there are no items selected then what is wanting the metadata to be loaded?

I'm confused as to what would be the cause, but I'm still thinking that a screen share session will help me understand more and is worthwhile.

-Kirk

Offline guang

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Hangs Getting Metadata when Adding Items to Both Collection and Catalog
« Reply #28 on: September 02, 2021, 09:09:23 AM »
Yes, sorry it did say “Getting metadata for 0 of 35 selected items.”.  I had copied that but forgot to paste it into my msg.  Once the problem starts again today i’ll let you know.

-mark