Author Topic: Migrating from Aperture to PM+  (Read 1068 times)

Offline gmiddleton

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Migrating from Aperture to PM+
« on: April 17, 2022, 12:05:22 PM »
After many years it is finally time for me to move off Aperture to software that is actually supported.

I'm an amateur photographer with about 20 years worth of digital images, but not a great deal of volume.  My photos are organized in projects in Aperture, so I was planning to create a PM+ collection for each Aperture project.

I don't have an easy and reliable way of directly exporting projects, so my approach is to create an IPTC keyword for each project, ingest into PM+, and then create a collection for each keyword.  I have only a few dozen projects, so this seems feasible.

Is this a good plan, or have I missed some easier method?

Thanks!

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Migrating from Aperture to PM+
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2022, 04:48:42 PM »
After many years it is finally time for me to move off Aperture to software that is actually supported.

I'm an amateur photographer with about 20 years worth of digital images, but not a great deal of volume.  My photos are organized in projects in Aperture, so I was planning to create a PM+ collection for each Aperture project.

I don't have an easy and reliable way of directly exporting projects, so my approach is to create an IPTC keyword for each project, ingest into PM+, and then create a collection for each keyword.  I have only a few dozen projects, so this seems feasible.

Is this a good plan, or have I missed some easier method?

That seems reasonable to me.  You'd create the collection for the keyword, do a search/filter/browse for that keyword, select all, and then add the photos to the collection.

-Kirk

Offline gmiddleton

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2022, 08:15:25 AM »