Author Topic: Cropping PM and/or in Photoshop  (Read 9831 times)

Offline dlpictures

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Cropping PM and/or in Photoshop
« on: May 23, 2006, 07:39:21 PM »
I am new to PM. I looked in the Help documentation but could not find an answer to my issue: Once I use the crop tool in the edit box, the new 'cropped' version does not show in the thumbnail. The crop does not seem to take effect. If I can't crop in PM, then I would like to open the files(s) in Photoshop and do it there. How do I get to Photoshop from PM? Or better yet, how can I crop in PM?

Online Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Cropping PM and/or in Photoshop
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2006, 07:57:13 PM »
I am new to PM. I looked in the Help documentation but could not find an answer to my issue: Once I use the crop tool in the edit box, the new 'cropped' version does not show in the thumbnail. The crop does not seem to take effect. If I can't crop in PM, then I would like to open the files(s) in Photoshop and do it there.

Crops in PM are "soft edits".  To make them take effect, you need to do a "Save as" and set the Apply Crop checkbox.  You can apply your crop in other areas of the program like when exporting HTML, sending photos via email, FTP upload, PhotoShelter upload, etc.

Quote from: dlpictures
How do I get to Photoshop from PM? Or better yet, how can I crop in PM?

You can always send photos to the editor of your choice, but you have to tell Photo Mechanic where each of your editors are.  You can do this with the Launching tab of the Preferences dialog.

Feel free to ask more questions.

-Kirk

Offline BKPhotos

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
    • Bruce Kennedy Photography
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2006, 08:01:40 PM »