Author Topic: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x  (Read 10934 times)

Offline zeddi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« on: May 20, 2007, 11:38:24 AM »
Hello together,

maybe I make something wrong (or don't understand the export), but on my system the export function don't work.

I try to make a text export with following string: "{folderpath}{filename}%{colorclassval}"
With PM 4.4.3.3 it works very well, but
version 4.5 and 4.5.1.1 do realy nothing - they don't create a file and they don't export anything :-(

My OS is Windows XP SP2 system.

Thank you very much
Joerg
www.hauke-photo.com

PS.: the button "close" do nothing too ...

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20263
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2007, 03:27:32 PM »
maybe I make something wrong (or don't understand the export), but on my system the export function don't work.

I try to make a text export with following string: "{folderpath}{filename}%{colorclassval}"
With PM 4.4.3.3 it works very well, but
version 4.5 and 4.5.1.1 do realy nothing - they don't create a file and they don't export anything :-(

My OS is Windows XP SP2 system.

Is there a reason why you're using the % character?  I think that could be the problem.

-Kirk

Offline Frantisek Vlcek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2007, 04:17:19 PM »
Hi, as far as I know the "%" character is a reserved one by Windows,has beeen that way years ago since DOS operating system. If you use system characters in your strings, all sorts of behavious can happen in your programs. I suggest using another char as the delimiter.

Offline zeddi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2007, 11:34:47 PM »
Hi,

I remove the delimiter "%", but the problem is still the same:
The Export do really nothing.

Joerg

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20263
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2007, 11:56:53 PM »
Joerg,

I remove the delimiter "%", but the problem is still the same:
The Export do really nothing.

Please post a screenshot of the Export dialog just before you start the export operation.  When you post your reply, the "Additional Options..." button will allow you to upload a JPEG image to your message.

-Kirk

Offline zeddi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2007, 03:01:05 AM »
Hi Kirk,

here is the screenshot.

thanks
Joerg

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20263
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2007, 06:38:46 AM »
Joerg,

here is the screenshot.

Looks fine to me.  What kind of files do you have selected?  And you say nothing happens when you click the Export button?  (meaning no File picker dialog appears to let you choose the export filename and location?)  And the Close button does not close the Exporter window?

-Kirk

Offline zeddi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2007, 07:46:11 AM »
Hi Kirk,

the File picker dialog appears. But after this nothing happens. I can chooses an existing file but PM do not change it. When I try to get a new one PM don't create the file.
(normaly I use a file called ranking.txt)
And yes, the "close" button don't close the Explorer window.

The same thing (nothing) happens with all other export options like "XML" or "PM classic".

Joerg

PS: I send you a screenshot of the file picker window too


[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20263
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2007, 08:12:56 AM »
Joerg,

the File picker dialog appears. But after this nothing happens. I can chooses an existing file but PM do not change it. When I try to get a new one PM don't create the file.
(normaly I use a file called ranking.txt)
And yes, the "close" button don't close the Explorer window.

The same thing (nothing) happens with all other export options like "XML" or "PM classic".

I suggest you do an uninstall, restart your system, and reinstall PM 4.5.1.1 and see if that fixes things.

-Kirk

Offline zeddi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2007, 08:59:42 AM »
Hi Kirk,

now I have uninstalled PM, clean my registry (remove everything called like camera bits), reboot the system and reinstall PM 4.5.1.1.
But I got the same problem: the export don't work  ???

Apropos: on my second system I got the same problem.

Maybe I use a software which disturb PM?
I use following (on both systems):
Windows XP SP2
Photoshop CS2
Bibble 4.95
Adobe Lightroom
BreezeBrowser
Downloader from Breeze
Nikon Capture NX
Microsoft Office 2002
Visual Basic 6
Visual Basic 2005 Express
Opera 9

- Joerg

PS.  Again: the export of PM 4.4.x works very well
« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 09:02:36 AM by zeddi »

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20263
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2007, 11:22:16 AM »
Joerg,

now I have uninstalled PM, clean my registry (remove everything called like camera bits), reboot the system and reinstall PM 4.5.1.1.
But I got the same problem: the export don't work  ???

Apropos: on my second system I got the same problem.

Maybe I use a software which disturb PM?
I use following (on both systems):
Windows XP SP2
Photoshop CS2
Bibble 4.95
Adobe Lightroom
BreezeBrowser
Downloader from Breeze
Nikon Capture NX
Microsoft Office 2002
Visual Basic 6
Visual Basic 2005 Express
Opera 9

I don't think those apps should interfere with the internal workings of Photo Mechanic.  I'm wondering if the PM.log file on your system may have some clues as to what is going wrong.  You can find it in the following location (some of the folder names may be different on your system because of language localization):

C:\Documents and Settings\<your user name>\Application Data\Camera Bits, Inc\Photo Mechanic\PM.log

Once you find the file, contact me privately for an email address to send the PM.log file to.  You can send me a Personal Message by clicking on my name to the left of this email.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline Wolvie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2007, 07:46:16 AM »
The problem is his last two sets of variable are enclosed in the wrong bracket.

~ W

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20263
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2007, 08:18:34 AM »
The problem is his last two sets of variable are enclosed in the wrong bracket.

A file should still be created.  Those variables just wouldn't expand at all and would just be repeated as is in the text file.

-Kirk

Offline zeddi

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2007, 10:52:32 PM »
Kirk,

I am looking on "C:\Documents and Settings\<your user name>\Application Data\Camera Bits, Inc\Photo Mechanic"
But there is no PM.log file, there are only some *.state files and 4 directories.

Joerg.

Offline Frantisek Vlcek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
Re: Export... do not work im PM 4.5.x
« Reply #14 on: May 25, 2007, 12:48:36 AM »
Have you changed your PM's Cache directory from the default to somewhere else? It seems PM.log is saved next to the cache directory. Or just do Find for PM.log, shouldn't that be obvious?