Author Topic: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?  (Read 11682 times)

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« on: May 28, 2007, 02:35:31 AM »
Hallo!

I'm not sure if this is a bug.

when ingestiing pictures, I apply with PM a general IPTC caption.
After this, I used Fotostation so enter more detailled text to the pictures.

Now the big problem:
I sent the files to a customer via FTP and now - HORRIBLE! - the iptc caption was set to default as set during ingesting!!

"apply IPTC stationery" NOT set!

whats wrong?
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline mbrown

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 05:11:32 AM »
I had a similar problem, I applied the standard caption during ingest.  I then did the more detailed captioning in PM.  When I uploaded to my news service, half of the images reverted back to the original caption from ingest.

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2007, 05:51:39 AM »
thanks for your replay, so I'm not alone and I guess we hava a serious, urgent bug
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21971
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2007, 07:19:56 AM »
I'm not sure if this is a bug.

when ingestiing pictures, I apply with PM a general IPTC caption.
After this, I used Fotostation so enter more detailled text to the pictures.

Now the big problem:
I sent the files to a customer via FTP and now - HORRIBLE! - the iptc caption was set to default as set during ingesting!!

"apply IPTC stationery" NOT set!

I'd guess that the issue in your case is that Fotostation likes to put the IPTC data in a non-standard place and your customer's software (you didn't specify) is picking up the IPTC data created by PM (since it is in the standard location) instead of the Fotostation-edited IPTC data.

I recommend you not use Fotostation for this task.

But to answer your concern equivocally I would have to see the actual file that you uploaded.  I'd be happy to take a look at it.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21971
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2007, 07:20:54 AM »
I had a similar problem, I applied the standard caption during ingest.  I then did the more detailed captioning in PM.  When I uploaded to my news service, half of the images reverted back to the original caption from ingest.

Did you apply the IPTC Stationery Pad on the upload?

-Kirk

Offline mbrown

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2007, 04:36:50 AM »
I had a similar problem, I applied the standard caption during ingest.  I then did the more detailed captioning in PM.  When I uploaded to my news service, half of the images reverted back to the original caption from ingest.

Did you apply the IPTC Stationery Pad on the upload?

-Kirk


Yes I did

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2007, 05:11:26 AM »
hello,

I use only the standard IPTC-Fields, especially the "Caption"-Field.
I guess there's a misunderstood about the "customer software".

With PM I upload the images to a FTP-Server. The IPTC-data of the saved copies of transmitted images is then not the same as the origin. "apply IPTC stationary" is NOT checked!

I'll try to reproduce it and give you the files.


I'd guess that the issue in your case is that Fotostation likes to put the IPTC data in a non-standard place and your customer's software (you didn't specify) is picking up the IPTC data created by PM (since it is in the standard location) instead of the Fotostation-edited IPTC data.

I recommend you not use Fotostation for this task.

But to answer your concern equivocally I would have to see the actual file that you uploaded.  I'd be happy to take a look at it.
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21971
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2007, 06:42:00 AM »
I had a similar problem, I applied the standard caption during ingest.  I then did the more detailed captioning in PM.  When I uploaded to my news service, half of the images reverted back to the original caption from ingest.

Did you apply the IPTC Stationery Pad on the upload?

Yes I did

What did your IPTC Stationery Pad look like at the time of the upload?  Is it possible that it made your captions more generic?

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21971
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2007, 06:46:33 AM »
I use only the standard IPTC-Fields, especially the "Caption"-Field.
I guess there's a misunderstood about the "customer software".

What I was trying to tell you is that the way Fotostation captions files, there can be two captions in the file, one in the standard location (the one PM and most other software uses) and one in a non-standard location (the one that Fotostation adds).

So since you edited the captions with Fotostation it is quite possible that unless your customer uses Fotostation, they are seeing only the less detailed caption you originally created with Photo Mechanic.

Both captions are in the file, but only one is likely to be used by any given application.

-Kirk

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2007, 08:28:22 AM »
thats not the point... the saved files of transmitted images contains definitiveley PM's IPTC Caption even though that not should be..

I viewed the sent images IPTC Caption with fotostation and IrfanView - both showed me the generic caption that I entered in PM while ingesting.
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21971
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2007, 08:37:30 AM »
thats not the point... the saved files of transmitted images contains definitiveley PM's IPTC Caption even though that not should be..

I viewed the sent images IPTC Caption with fotostation and IrfanView - both showed me the generic caption that I entered in PM while ingesting.


Then please send me the files.

-Kirk

Offline soren steffen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2007, 12:21:36 PM »
Maybe the problem is that when you ftp from a contact sheet with RAW+jpg together, PM attaches the "original" IPTC ?

I just noticed today when I created a website with such a  contact sheet, the captions are only from the RAW file, not the jpgs.


Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2007, 12:59:32 PM »
no.

I'have re-produce it:

1. ingest two jpg files with a generic text in the caption field
2. save a new caption with Fotostation in both files
3. open file1 with photoshop, do a crop and save it
4. now file1 has the generic caption from PM and file2 still the Fotostation-caption.

during this, the folder containing the two files was opened in the PM-navigator.

so it has nothing to do with FTPing, rather then with modifying files.


Kirk, I've send you via email the two files and screenshots to support@
« Last Edit: May 29, 2007, 01:02:08 PM by Brendan »
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21971
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2007, 01:37:00 PM »
Brendan,

no.

I'have re-produce it:

1. ingest two jpg files with a generic text in the caption field
2. save a new caption with Fotostation in both files
3. open file1 with photoshop, do a crop and save it
4. now file1 has the generic caption from PM and file2 still the Fotostation-caption.

during this, the folder containing the two files was opened in the PM-navigator.

so it has nothing to do with FTPing, rather then with modifying files.


Kirk, I've send you via email the two files and screenshots to support@

Please contact me privately by clicking on my name to the left of this message and send me a Personal Message.  I will give you server upload information.

But based on your description, it is Fotostation that is at fault here.  Your file1 example lost the Fotostation caption because Photoshop omitted it when saving (since it is in a non-standard location and is not seen by Photoshop.)

Can you take Fotostation out of the loop and do all of your captioning in PM and see if that solves the issue?

-Kirk

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC caption modificated when FTPing?
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2007, 02:33:21 PM »
Brendan, (since it is in a non-standard location and is not seen by Photoshop.)
crazy shit!  are there really more possible places in a jpg file for the IPTC-caption? I cant beliefe that.

especially because I can read the fotostation-caption with any program like IrfanView, XnView.. and FS is a very often used software. (okay, Microsoft too)

 ???


but now you have these files and I'm looking forward to your analyses
using the latest version of PM on win10