Author Topic: VERY Slow ingest AND goofy IPTC issues  (Read 4176 times)

Offline danlamont

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
VERY Slow ingest AND goofy IPTC issues
« on: May 22, 2007, 10:59:36 PM »
Hey folks:

I've been using PM for four years -- mostly happy and trouble free. I recently upgraded to 4.5 and discovered that several image files from each card would randomly not ingest but generate error messages in the ingest progress window. When I simply dragged and dropped the same files from the same cards into a folder everything was fine (but without the advantage of the IPTC info and file naming I love) -- in other words the files are not corrupted. I was told by phone to upgrade to 4.5.1 Did that the other day.  NOW ingesting a 2 gig card, which used to take maybe five minutes takes about 30 minutes! On top of that the IPTC information I'd written to the stationary and designated to be added on ingest is gone -- replaced by a caption I wrote for the last job downloaded a couple of days ago.

I also still get an occasional random ingest error -- same as above.

I am not new to the program and I am doing everything right as far as I know, though I am a bit confused by the "global" v "local" designation on the IPTC stationary. I am running a G5 with 10.4.9 Lightroom is recently onboard, too. I note from the forum it may be causing some issues..?

Thanks for the help,

Dan Lamont

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: VERY Slow ingest AND goofy IPTC issues
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2007, 12:44:47 AM »
Dan,