Author Topic: Hisograms getting corupted  (Read 6320 times)

Offline Eric

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Hisograms getting corupted
« on: May 25, 2006, 07:32:21 AM »
Kirk,

I've just noticed that if I apply a color class to an image in preview when I go back to that image the histogram has changed from the smooth ups and downs to a very spiked histogram. The images are fine, it's just the histogram that gets goofed up. If I send the image to CS2 the historgram there looks fine. Again nothing is being done to the image so I not worried about it but thought that you might like to know.

Eric

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19405
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2006, 08:59:56 AM »
I've just noticed that if I apply a color class to an image in preview when I go back to that image the histogram has changed from the smooth ups and downs to a very spiked histogram. The images are fine, it's just the histogram that gets goofed up. If I send the image to CS2 the historgram there looks fine. Again nothing is being done to the image so I not worried about it but thought that you might like to know.

OS platform, and file type would be useful.

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline Eric

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2006, 11:57:57 AM »
Sorry about that. I'm on XP pro and it's doing it to jpegs.

Eric

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19405
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2006, 10:50:51 PM »
Sorry about that. I'm on XP pro and it's doing it to jpegs.

Should be fixed in the 4.4.3.1 update.

-Kirk

Offline Eric

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2006, 08:41:34 AM »
Nope. Still getting corupted, Happens when I add a color class to an image and move to the next. When I go back all of the histograms are spiking. Using XP Pro, 3GB ram, 2 TB of drives latest XP patches/upgrades.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19405
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2006, 11:57:08 AM »
Nope. Still getting corupted, Happens when I add a color class to an image and move to the next. When I go back all of the histograms are spiking. Using XP Pro, 3GB ram, 2 TB of drives latest XP patches/upgrades.

Could you post a screen shot of the histogram before and after?

Thanks,

-Kirk

Offline NickML

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2006, 05:01:23 AM »
I've just noticed that if I apply a color class to an image in preview when I go back to that image the histogram has changed from the smooth ups and downs to a very spiked histogram.

Are you sure it's not just "combing" - which is normal behaviour for many auto-levels functions. Does the same thing happen in Photoshop levels ?

Copy and paste this link (don't click - it won;t work !) to see a before CS2 auto-levels(top) and after (below) example from one of my out-of-the-camera JPEGs

http://www.nml.uk.com/i/combing.jpg

~ Nick
« Last Edit: July 05, 2006, 05:05:24 AM by NickML »

Offline NickML

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2006, 05:27:34 AM »
Sorry - didn't read the original post properly. That'll teach me...

~ Nick

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19405
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2006, 05:34:13 AM »
Nope. Still getting corupted, Happens when I add a color class to an image and move to the next. When I go back all of the histograms are spiking. Using XP Pro, 3GB ram, 2 TB of drives latest XP patches/upgrades.

Could you post a screen shot of the histogram before and after?

Never mind.  I was able to reproduce the issue.  Looking into it now.

-Kirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 19405
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2006, 06:27:58 AM »
Nope. Still getting corupted, Happens when I add a color class to an image and move to the next. When I go back all of the histograms are spiking. Using XP Pro, 3GB ram, 2 TB of drives latest XP patches/upgrades.

Could you post a screen shot of the histogram before and after?

Never mind.  I was able to reproduce the issue.  Looking into it now.

Found the problem (only happened if you have the preference set to save tag and color class info in IPTC/XMP metadata).  Fixed it.

Thanks for the information.

-Kirk

Offline Eric

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
Re: Hisograms getting corupted
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2006, 10:38:57 AM »
Kirk I knew you would :)