Author Topic: Map Command - Where is it?  (Read 5882 times)

Offline egami

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Map Command - Where is it?
« on: September 12, 2007, 09:34:30 AM »
Hi,

I see from the read me pdf with the latest upgrade that there is a map command to link photos with GPS data to Google Maps. How does one access this command?

Thanks in advance,
Louis Helbig
egami image

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23421
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Map Command - Where is it?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2007, 09:42:46 AM »
Louis,

I see from the read me pdf with the latest upgrade that there is a map command to link photos with GPS data to Google Maps. How does one access this command?

Right-click on an image and you'll see a contextual menu.  At the bottom is the Map command.

-Kirk

Offline egami

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Map Command - Where is it?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2007, 09:50:41 AM »
Hi Kirk,

Thank you, this is an absolutely brilliant command.

Can it also be used on Google Earth?

Louis

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23421
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Map Command - Where is it?
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2007, 11:59:42 AM »
Louis,

Thank you, this is an absolutely brilliant command.

Can it also be used on Google Earth?

No, not currently.  I don't know how hard it would be to add that support at this time.  But I'd guess that it is doable.

-Kirk

Offline egami

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Map Command - Where is it?
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2007, 05:22:03 PM »
Hi Kirk,

I would certainly vote for being able to use it Google Earth.

Thanks for your help,
Louis :)

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1030
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: Map Command - Where is it?
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2007, 12:41:40 AM »
Right-click on an image and you'll see a contextual menu.  At the bottom is the Map command.

Is it a Mac only thing? I don't see the map command allowing to link image to the map. In the right click contextual menu I only see the Show Map which is not for linking just to show the map already linked to images.
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23421
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Map Command - Where is it?
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2007, 06:28:53 AM »
Right-click on an image and you'll see a contextual menu.  At the bottom is the Map command.

Is it a Mac only thing? I don't see the map command allowing to link image to the map. In the right click contextual menu I only see the Show Map which is not for linking just to show the map already linked to images.

It's the same thing on Windows.  I'm not sure I understand what you're describing.

Your images need to have GPS EXIF data already in them for the feature to work.

-Kirk

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1030
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: Map Command - Where is it?
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2007, 12:29:05 PM »
It's the same thing on Windows.  I'm not sure I understand what you're describing.

Your images need to have GPS EXIF data already in them for the feature to work.

Sorry I missunderstood the "map command" expression. I know the show map feature in PM, but I am yet on the other and of the problem: getting my GPS coordinates into the images. I was hoping to see a new feature in PM allowing at least to edit GPS coordinates or even to geosync images from GPS logs.

I see now this isn't the case yet. But I still hope for such a feature in PM...
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com