Author Topic: IPTC stationary select/deselect all  (Read 6290 times)

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« on: October 08, 2007, 03:21:36 PM »
It would make a lot of IPTC editings easyer to have a select/deselect all button for selecting or deselecting all fields, since I often miss to uncheck all the boxes and some of them gets overwritten mistakenly.
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline NeilR

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2007, 04:43:32 PM »
You could set up a snapshot with all items checked, and a snapshot with all items UNchecked.  I did something similar trying to solve a similar problem.

Neil

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2007, 05:58:21 AM »
You could set up a snapshot with all items checked, and a snapshot with all items UNchecked.  I did something similar trying to solve a similar problem.

Yes but doing so would erase the content of the fields not necerssarily wanted avery time.
In my case there are cases I set or change all or most of the fields, but in certain cases my goal is to change only one or two fields. In this case it is more easier to press a deselect all, and then select only the needed, than deselect them all manually.

Since I may need to change one field on a next selection of images (either to the same as last time, or a partially changed version of it) on my part it would be more troubble to clear the fields with a pre saved snapshot.
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20622
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2007, 06:55:07 AM »
You could set up a snapshot with all items checked, and a snapshot with all items UNchecked.  I did something similar trying to solve a similar problem.

Yes but doing so would erase the content of the fields not necerssarily wanted avery time.
In my case there are cases I set or change all or most of the fields, but in certain cases my goal is to change only one or two fields. In this case it is more easier to press a deselect all, and then select only the needed, than deselect them all manually.

Since I may need to change one field on a next selection of images (either to the same as last time, or a partially changed version of it) on my part it would be more troubble to clear the fields with a pre saved snapshot.

I don't want to add more buttons to those dialogs unless it cannot be helped.  We could add a shortcut, say hold down the Shift (or Option on Mac) when you click on a checkbox and whatever that checkbox turns into when it toggles, then all checkboxes would get the same state.

I think that would work.

-Kirk

Offline Primoz

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • PhotoSI Sports photo agency
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2007, 04:47:05 AM »
Solution with snapshot for all fields unchecked works fine for me. When archiving, I add tag with disk number to photos, and at that time I leave everything unchecked except for one field. This leaves data in all other fields, except for checked one. With one snapshot called "empty" (with all but one fields unchecked) and one snapshot called "normal" (with all fields checked), I can easily switch between normal IPTC layout and this "empty" one.
But if you have all fields checked, then of course it will replace all fields.

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2007, 03:21:38 PM »
I don't want to add more buttons to those dialogs unless it cannot be helped.  We could add a shortcut, say hold down the Shift (or Option on Mac) when you click on a checkbox and whatever that checkbox turns into when it toggles, then all checkboxes would get the same state.

I think that would work.

This sounds a great solution. My wish is not a new button, but to be able to get to the function no matter what way ot goes....and PM is really great in it.
,-))
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2007, 02:20:32 AM »
When may we hope to see this possibility in PM come true?
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20622
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2007, 06:22:20 AM »
When may we hope to see this possibility in PM come true?

Yes, it is likely that I will implement this in a future version of PM.

-Kirk

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2007, 11:30:18 AM »
Yes, it is likely that I will implement this in a future version of PM.

I hope you will soon, thanks for the answer!
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2008, 08:09:57 AM »
When may we hope to see this possibility in PM come true?

Yes, it is likely that I will implement this in a future version of PM.

-Kirk


Is there an estimate for which version we will see it?
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20622
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2008, 08:35:04 AM »
When may we hope to see this possibility in PM come true?

Yes, it is likely that I will implement this in a future version of PM.

Is there an estimate for which version we will see it?

It is on my list of tasks for 4.6.

-Kirk


Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: IPTC stationary select/deselect all
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2008, 06:40:29 AM »
When may we hope to see this possibility in PM come true?

Yes, it is likely that I will implement this in a future version of PM.

Is there an estimate for which version we will see it?

It is on my list of tasks for 4.6.

-Kirk




Thanks Kirk! Both for the feature and for the answer too!
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com