Author Topic: Color Class  (Read 9100 times)

Offline ImageGroupLA

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Color Class
« on: April 25, 2006, 09:31:28 pm »
Would it be possilbe to make the color class work similar to Tag?  Hit the T key once, it is tagged, hit it again and it is untaged.  Hit the 1 key for color, hit the 1 key again and color is gone.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18513
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Color Class
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2006, 09:47:31 pm »
Would it be possilbe to make the color class work similar to Tag?  Hit the T key once, it is tagged, hit it again and it is untaged.  Hit the 1 key for color, hit the 1 key again and color is gone.

I suppose it could work that way.  I'll run it by Dennis.

Thanks for the feedback,

-Kirk

Offline Kevin M. Cox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • PM 5.0 Build 19695 | macOS 10.13.6
    • View Profile
    • Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
Re: Color Class
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2006, 07:51:50 am »
I'd also like to add my vote for this change.
Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
http://www.KevinCox.com

Offline SamFrost

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
    • Sam Frost Photography
Re: Color Class
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2006, 09:49:48 am »
Me too :)  It seems more logical to have it this way, instead of having to find another key to choose 'none'.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18513
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Color Class
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2006, 09:57:12 am »
Me too :)  It seems more logical to have it this way, instead of having to find another key to choose 'none'.

OK, I have run this by Dennis, and the concern is that when you have a selection and some of the images have no color class, and some have the same color class that you are toggling, what should it do?  Should they all get set to 'on' or should they truly toggle their values?

So if this were only to work for single images and not selections?  Is it really that hard to type '0' (zero) to turn off the color class?

-Kirk

Offline Kevin M. Cox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
  • PM 5.0 Build 19695 | macOS 10.13.6
    • View Profile
    • Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
Re: Color Class
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2006, 10:33:50 am »
Kirk, I see the concern.  For my personal use, it would be fine if the toggle only worked while in Preview mode, not contact sheet, but I'm not sure if that is possible to code and I see how it could get confusing to users having it work differently depending on which view mode they are in.
Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
http://www.KevinCox.com

Offline Ron Scheffler

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Color Class
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2006, 12:03:56 pm »
A concern I would have is when I'm in a rush and out of habit hit 1, or whatever, but that image already has the number 1 color class assigned. It would then be toggled off and I might miss this. I caught myself doing this just yesterday while filing on deadline (hitting the 1 key more than once while working on an image).

Maybe a preferences option?
Ron Scheffler - Photographer