Author Topic: XMP Sidecars with NEF files  (Read 13897 times)

Offline aramb

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
XMP Sidecars with NEF files
« on: December 29, 2007, 07:39:44 AM »
I shoot in RAW (NEF). Is there an advantage to using the XMP sidecars rather than just imbedding IPTC data into the NEF file itself?  It seems that it would be cumbersome to have an additional file for each photo. Please excuse my ignorance, I am new to this.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: XMP Sidecars with NEF files
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2007, 08:46:23 AM »
I shoot in RAW (NEF). Is there an advantage to using the XMP sidecars rather than just imbedding IPTC data into the NEF file itself?  It seems that it would be cumbersome to have an additional file for each photo. Please excuse my ignorance, I am new to this.

If you are using Adobe products, you definitely want XMP sidecar files for your NEFs.  Embedding XMP confuses Bridge and ACR.  I don't know the effect of embedding XMP in NEFs for Lightroom, but I would still recommend XMP sidecars when using Lightroom.

-Kirk

Offline aramb

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2007, 08:53:06 AM »
Thanks Kirk... are you saying that if I set up my IPTC preferences as notated on page 115 of the manual (Settings for Nikon Capture NX), that the sidecars that are created will work allow the NEF files to be cross-compatible with Bridge and ACR?

Thanks,

Aram

Offline Kirk Baker

• Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2007, 11:11:53 AM »
Aram,

Thanks Kirk... are you saying that if I set up my IPTC preferences as notated on page 115 of the manual (Settings for Nikon Capture NX), that the sidecars that are created will work allow the NEF files to be cross-compatible with Bridge and ACR?

Yes, that's correct.

-Kirk

Offline mnphotoguy2005

• Newcomer