Author Topic: Unsupported Format Variant  (Read 3049 times)

Offline ms2thdr

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Unsupported Format Variant
« on: February 23, 2008, 02:09:29 PM »
I've been using Photo Mechanic for 3 years now and all of the sudden (version 4.5.3) I seem to be getting this message on every image that I save as a .psd "Unsupported Format Variant"  Nothing has changed with the way I save files that I can tell, and instead of having this every once in a while I'm seeing it on nearly every image.

Thanks for any help!

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Unsupported Format Variant
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2008, 02:14:33 PM »
I've been using Photo Mechanic for 3 years now and all of the sudden (version 4.5.3) I seem to be getting this message on every image that I save as a .psd "Unsupported Format Variant"  Nothing has changed with the way I save files that I can tell, and instead of having this every once in a while I'm seeing it on nearly every image.

Your images are likely too large for QuickTime to render without crashing.  We currently use QuickTime to render PSD files and it crashes Photo Mechanic if files are sent to it that are larger than a certain (I don't remember the restrictions right at the moment) size.

Maybe you've started working with 16-bit PSDs?  They get larger twice as fast as 8-bit PSDs.

-Kirk

Offline ms2thdr

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2008, 02:17:16 PM »
Ahhh..thank you, I've always worked with 16bit PSD's but this batch of photo's has been very heavy on layers (layers for everything it seems) Thank you for your quick reply Kirk!

Offline rcohn

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2008, 07:41:31 PM »