Author Topic: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3  (Read 9244 times)

Offline dmdeckbar

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« on: February 25, 2008, 04:51:34 AM »
Dear Kirk, dear Photo Mechanic Users,

I am coming from IView Media Pro an using PM now for a while.

A client needs the itpc field "persons" in german "personen".

Files from IView Media Pro does not show this field in PM.

Is there any way to create this field in PM 4.5.3

In Aperture i will find the field under the german word "Kontakt" which means "contacts"

I dont see the the field in Lightroom !

I read in some old post that it is not posible to create the field in PM 4.4 ... but in 4.5 ...

Is that true an how could I do it ?

I am on a mac with 10.4.11 with PM 4.5.3

Kind regards from Berlin / Germany


Dirk javascript:void(0);





« Last Edit: February 25, 2008, 04:53:55 AM by dmdeckbar »

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21425
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2008, 06:38:13 AM »
Dirk,

I am coming from IView Media Pro an using PM now for a while.

A client needs the itpc field "persons" in german "personen".

Files from IView Media Pro does not show this field in PM.

Is there any way to create this field in PM 4.5.3

In Aperture i will find the field under the german word "Kontakt" which means "contacts"

I dont see the the field in Lightroom !

I read in some old post that it is not posible to create the field in PM 4.4 ... but in 4.5 ...

Is that true an how could I do it ?

I am on a mac with 10.4.11 with PM 4.5.3

You need to be using the new IPTC dialogs, and you have to tell Photo Mechanic to work with XMP.  There are several new fields that have to do with contact information that are only stored in XMP.

You'll need to configure the IPTC/XMP tab of the Photo Mechanic Preferences dialog to look like the attached screenshot.

HTH,

-Kirk



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline dmdeckbar

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2008, 09:47:45 AM »
Dear Kirk,

thanks a lot for the fast answer.

What does that mean using the new ITPC dialog ( does that mean in PM  or iView )

I did all the settings from the screenshot but I dont see the name in the ITPC field "Personen" that was filled in iView.

Any more tips for me ?

Maybe I could send you a file with the ITPC from iView.  ( I know that I have to write the ITPC from iView in the files )

So you are able to check if this ITPC field is visble for you

Kind regards


Dirk

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21425
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2008, 11:30:42 AM »
Dirk,

What does that mean using the new ITPC dialog ( does that mean in PM  or iView )

In PM.

Quote from: dmdeckbar
I did all the settings from the screenshot but I dont see the name in the ITPC field "Personen" that was filled in iView.

Any more tips for me ?

Maybe I could send you a file with the ITPC from iView.  ( I know that I have to write the ITPC from iView in the files )

So you are able to check if this ITPC field is visble for you

Sure, you can send me a file.  Just let me know what the text is that you have entered into that field so I can look for it.  Click on my name to the left of this message.  Then click on the "personal message" link and send me a message.  I will respond with server upload instructions.

-Kirk


Offline Russe

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2009, 04:58:53 AM »
Just wanted to bring this topic up again because it seems that PM still does not read the person IPTC field written in iView MediaPro.

Please see attached pic for a test. I added two names to the pic: "Chewbacca" and "Han Solo".

As well there are two other screenshots which show the rendering of the names in iView and Apple's Preview.
 

[attachment deleted by admin]
--
Russe

Offline heavymeister

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2009, 11:15:40 AM »
I also would like to have a field "person" added to PM's IPTC stationary pad. Fotostation has it too.
For Getty Images you need to fill in a compulsory "person" field. If that would exist in PM I would be a happy camper. A colleague just bought Fotostation Pro just for that reason: to have the "person" field when he is supplying photos to Getty. Otherwise he likes to use PM much more. And so do I. But I have to admit that non-existence of the "person" in PM field keeps me away from contributing to Getty more often since their own malfunction software is a pain.
A "person" field in PM's stationary pad would make life a lot easier for some folks here, I guess.

HM

Offline Russe

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2009, 12:07:17 AM »
Can anyone confirm that this IPTC field is just not supported by PM or is it somehow invisible in the most recent version 4.6.1?
--
Russe

Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21425
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2009, 07:46:30 AM »
Can anyone confirm that this IPTC field is just not supported by PM or is it somehow invisible in the most recent version 4.6.1?

I don't believe it is supported.  If you can send me a sample file then I can answer for certain.  Please click on my name to the left of this message, then click on the 'personal message' link.  I will respond with upload instructions.

-Kirk

Offline Russe

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2009, 11:57:35 AM »
If you can send me a sample file then I can answer for certain.

Hi Kirk,
I already attached some pics for testing to this post here:
http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=2745.msg20140#msg20140
If you need other ones I can send you some more pics.
--
Russe

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21425
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2009, 01:52:22 PM »
If you can send me a sample file then I can answer for certain.

Hi Kirk,
I already attached some pics for testing to this post here:
http://forums.camerabits.com/index.php?topic=2745.msg20140#msg20140
If you need other ones I can send you some more pics.

Yes, I'd like images uploaded to our server, not ones uploaded to our forums, please.  Please click on my name to the left of this message, then click on the 'personal message' link.  I will respond with upload instructions.

-Kirk

Offline platti

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
    • my gallery on zenfolio
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2009, 12:06:46 AM »
Hi,

The pdf-file in my posted link confirmes Kirks opinion, that this feature is supported by iViewMediaPro only .
greets from a hill
my gallery on zenfolio

Offline heavymeister

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2009, 08:56:01 AM »
Hi,

The pdf-file in my posted link confirmes Kirks opinion, that this feature is supported by iViewMediaPro only .

Not really. Fotostation Pro has it too. And Getty Images photographers have to use an awkward software called GIFT that has a "persons" field as compulsory to fill in.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21425
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2009, 09:02:16 AM »
Hi,

The pdf-file in my posted link confirmes Kirks opinion, that this feature is supported by iViewMediaPro only .

Not really. Fotostation Pro has it too. And Getty Images photographers have to use an awkward software called GIFT that has a "persons" field as compulsory to fill in.

I think they meant that PM didn't support it.  Not that the only application in existence to support that field is iView MediaPro (or Microsoft Expression Media.)

-Kirk

Offline Russe

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Where is the Iview Media Pro 3 field persons in PM 4.5.3
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2009, 12:43:03 PM »
Maybe this is a solution for you?
http://www.controlledvocabulary.com/imagedatabases/iptc_core_mapped.pdf

I already know this document but unfortunately its very old: 7/17/2007
--
Russe