Author Topic: Newbiw Question  (Read 4828 times)

Offline JT701

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Newbiw Question
« on: March 02, 2008, 01:59:33 AM »
Hi There,

I have just installed PM and an trying to get my head around it.  I am a novic photographer who is now starting to get paid work at the weekends, so trying to sort out my Digital workflow, keywording and captions etc.

I was watching a pro using PM and he said he doesnt take everything off the CF Card just what he wants.  So is there a way to view everything on the card and tag say 30 possibles and just import them, that way your transfer time is reduced???

Offline FVlcek

• View Profile
Re: Newbiw Question
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 02:23:11 AM »
You can ingest only locked or unlocked photos, that is, locked by pressing the key button in camera when reviewing them in camera. But I use that only when I am under tight deadline, like minutes only to get the photo back to newspaper. Usually I lock good shots in camera, but ingest everything anyway.

Frantisek

Offline Kevin M. Cox

• PM 6 (7102) | macOS 14.4.1
    • View Profile
    • Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
Re: Newbiw Question
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2008, 07:54:08 PM »
Personally, I think it is risky working "off the card" and am pretty sure I also remember reading that here (or back on the Galbraith forums) before.

To do what you want, you *could* open the folder on the card containing your images in a PM Contact Sheet. (For me that would mean, on the computer: double-clicking the card to open it, double-clicking the DCIM folder to open it, then dragging the "100EOS1D" folder onto the Photo Mechanic icon to open it in a contact sheet.)  I could then "tag" or "color class" or "star" the images I wanted, highlight them and use the "Copy Photos" command to move them over to my computer.