Author Topic: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore  (Read 6344 times)

Offline Ernie Rice

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« on: March 07, 2008, 11:32:33 PM »
The commas are there when I put the keywords in, but after I OK them and go back the spaces are gone.  Is this something that was changed in the last update?  It makes long lists of keywords run together like long words.  And I'm wondering if it will cause problems with Photoshelter's keywording system.

Anyway, thanks for any help in this....
Ernie

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2008, 06:34:15 AM »
Ernie,

The commas are there when I put the keywords in, but after I OK them and go back the spaces are gone.  Is this something that was changed in the last update?  It makes long lists of keywords run together like long words.  And I'm wondering if it will cause problems with Photoshelter's keywording system.

What OS are you running?  Which version of Photo Mechanic are you running?

-Kirk


Offline Ernie Rice

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2008, 07:08:06 AM »
Sorry,

Mac OS X 10.4.11

PhotoMechanic 4.5.3.1

:)
Ernie

Offline Ernie Rice

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2008, 07:39:44 AM »
So am I the only person this is happening to or is it a change that was added to PhotoMechanic in the last update?

Thanks,
Ernie

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2008, 08:00:47 AM »
Ernie,

So am I the only person this is happening to or is it a change that was added to PhotoMechanic in the last update?

It looks like it was a change in the 4.5.3.1 update.

-Kirk


Offline Ernie Rice

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2008, 08:02:08 AM »
OK, thanks.

Offline rcohn

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2008, 04:59:43 PM »
I saw this too, but I'm too new to PM and keywording to realize it was a change and not the way it's always worked. Just to be sure: will this lack of a space after the commas affect any keywording engines?

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2008, 05:11:29 PM »
Ric,

I saw this too, but I'm too new to PM and keywording to realize it was a change and not the way it's always worked. Just to be sure: will this lack of a space after the commas affect any keywording engines?

No, it will not affect any other applications that read keywords from IPTC or XMP data.

-Kirk


Offline Kevin M. Cox

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
  • PM 6 Build 5029 | macOS 10.15.6 (19G2021)
    • View Profile
    • Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2008, 09:56:37 PM »
Actually the "no space" is a change back to how it has always worked (at least before 4.5). Seeing the space in 4.5.3 surprised me and then I thought I was going a little crazy when they weren't there again later (after upgrading to .1 I realize now)!   =)
Kevin M. Cox | Photojournalist
https://www.KevinCox.com

Offline rcohn

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2008, 08:25:04 AM »

No, it will not affect any other applications that read keywords from IPTC or XMP data.

-Kirk

That's what I had thought, but I wanted to be sure. Thanks for confirming this!

Ric Cohn

Offline langier

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Larry Angier ¬©Carolyn Fox
    • View Profile
    • Image West Photography-Larry Angier & Carolyn Fox
Re: I have no spaces after the commas in the keywords anymore
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2008, 06:07:49 PM »
Hi Kirk,

Same problem with the run-on keyword lists for me, too. I just installed PM 4.5.3.1 on my OS X 10.4.11...

Before, not typing a space after a comma automatically created a space between phrases whenever I reopened the file. This feature sure saves keystrokes when typing lots of keywords.

The spaces would magically be generated upon applying the stationary to selected.

Now, even when you type the space into the keywords, it will be truncated. Glad to know it only finds its way into PM and not later down the line...

However, on my Powerbook G4 with OS X 10.4.11 and PM 4.5.3, the "auto-spacing" seems just fine and puts the space after the comma. Certainly makes the keywords easier to read!

Thanks for all your great work on PM!

Photo Mechanic makes doing digital, doable!
--
Larry Angier
Image West Photography
www.angier-fox.com