Author Topic: URGENT: crash on vista!  (Read 14804 times)

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
URGENT: crash on vista!
« on: April 06, 2008, 08:36:59 AM »
at the moment I am on a basketball game in a sports hall, and my PM dont start!
crazy shit!!

its on vista business. some times before it also crashes, but sometimes it starts, also.




help!   PS. Its not a beta-version, as the screen tells!!


I sent several times a crash report. it happens as administartor, and also as user.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2008, 08:53:34 AM by Brendan »
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline fotoregional

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2008, 09:25:07 AM »
hi brendanm

i have the same problem as you. pm 4.5.3.1 did not start on vista business.

sascha


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20629
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2008, 09:37:31 AM »
at the moment I am on a basketball game in a sports hall, and my PM dont start!
crazy shit!!

its on vista business. some times before it also crashes, but sometimes it starts, also.




help!   PS. Its not a beta-version, as the screen tells!!


I sent several times a crash report. it happens as administartor, and also as user.

The Crash Reporter was not recompiled without the BETA flag turned off.  The application itself is not a beta.

I don't know why it would crash on startup.  Have you installed anything else on your system recently since you have been using PM 4.5.3.1?

-Kirk


Offline fotoregional

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2008, 09:45:02 AM »
no. definitive not.

sascha

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20629
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2008, 10:27:29 AM »
no. definitive not.

Try holding down the Shift key when launching PM.  This resets some settings to their defaults.

-Kirk


Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2008, 10:36:45 AM »
holding down the shift key doesnt work. we have to fix this asap, pm is a very cruicial tool for ms / us!
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2008, 02:05:28 PM »
any news? :'(
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20629
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2008, 05:27:50 PM »
any news? :'(

Try contacting support@camerabits.com and they'll troubleshoot the issue with you.

-Kirk


Offline fotoregional

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2008, 04:49:47 AM »
Hi Brendan, hi Kirk,

any news? Holding the Shift-Key doesn't work. I have uninstalled an reinstalled pm. Nothing.

Any ideas?

Sascha

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20629
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2008, 06:46:37 AM »
Sascha,

Hi Brendan, hi Kirk,

any news? Holding the Shift-Key doesn't work. I have uninstalled an reinstalled pm. Nothing.

Any ideas?

The first thing to try would be to uninstall QuickTime if you have it installed and then restart Vista.  QuickTime and Vista are having growing pains right now.  QuickTime is used by Photo Mechanic mostly to render PSD and movie files, but is completely optional.

If that doesn't solve the issue, the please contact support@camerabits.com and they should be able to troubleshoot the problem with you.

-Kirk


Offline fotoregional

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2008, 07:13:55 AM »
I have send an e-mail to support@camerabits.com. Please contact me as soon as possible!

Thx.

Sascha

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2008, 07:20:57 AM »
I sent the email 8 hours ago, no response until now.
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2008, 07:37:37 AM »
QuickTime 7.4.1 on VistaBusiness SP1, all patches included.

I've deinstalled QT + PM and then reinstalled PM - the same problem, PM doesnt start!
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2008, 01:02:42 PM »
Usually, I copy the Application Data\ Folder\Camera Bits, Inc.\Photo Mechanic  (without cache) from Win XP to Vista to have all snapshots etc.. 

I guess, this is the problem. After I deleted the AppData\Roaming\Camerra Bits, Inc folder on my Vista UserAccount, PM is working again.

Now I will copy more selectivly my settings from XP to Vista, until PM offers a opportunity for export of the settings.
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Hayo Baan

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 2478
  • Professional Photographer & Software Developer
    • View Profile
    • Hayo Baan - Photography
Re: URGENT: crash on vista!
« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2008, 01:14:53 PM »
Ouch!  Of course this doesn't work; paths and other things are different under Vista than under XP.

But yes, it would be nice if PM had a way to create a transportable set of preferences :-)

Good to hear you solved it anyway,
    Hayo
Hayo Baan - Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl