Author Topic: doing tasks simultaneously  (Read 5363 times)

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
doing tasks simultaneously
« on: August 11, 2008, 04:20:24 AM »
hi!

at the moment PM is saving 320 photos, this take some time.
During this time PM cant be used for other things, (tagging other images, printing the contact sheet..) its "blocked" with this operation.
The same is when printing contact sheets.

it would be great if PM will not be blocked by such time consuming tasks

Time is money.. money we can spend for PM :-)


Regards, Brendan
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21561
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 06:35:49 AM »
Brendan,

at the moment PM is saving 320 photos, this take some time.
During this time PM cant be used for other things, (tagging other images, printing the contact sheet..) its "blocked" with this operation.
The same is when printing contact sheets.

it would be great if PM will not be blocked by such time consuming tasks

Time is money.. money we can spend for PM :-)

Things like that are purposely blocked because user interaction with the files being worked on could cause severe problems.  While you may personally never modify a file that is currently being saved, that doesn't mean that someone else will always be careful in this regard.

-Kirk


Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2008, 02:38:52 AM »

Things like that are purposely blocked because user interaction with the files being worked on could cause severe problems.  While you may personally never modify a file that is currently being saved, that doesn't mean that someone else will always be careful in this regard.

If I understand it right,  so it will be enough to block only access to the files / to the contactsheet that is already in use?

When contact sheet  XY  is printing, Id would love it when I can work with another contact sheet during this (mostly long time)
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21561
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2008, 06:40:47 AM »

Things like that are purposely blocked because user interaction with the files being worked on could cause severe problems.  While you may personally never modify a file that is currently being saved, that doesn't mean that someone else will always be careful in this regard.

If I understand it right,  so it will be enough to block only access to the files / to the contactsheet that is already in use?

When contact sheet  XY  is printing, Id would love it when I can work with another contact sheet during this (mostly long time)

Modal dialog boxes block interaction with all other windows.  To do what you want would require an extensive of almost every area of Photo Mechanic.

This sort of thing is just not likely to happen.

-Kirk


Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2008, 11:04:23 AM »
OK.

whats about to allow start 2 instances of photomechanic?  (like irfanview..)
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21561
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2008, 11:51:56 AM »
OK.

whats about to allow start 2 instances of photomechanic?  (like irfanview..)

Not possible.  The two would interfere with each other in regards to the cache.

-Kirk


Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2008, 11:55:36 AM »
just simply another cache (sub)folder wouldnt help? (when its only about the cache..)
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21561
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2008, 12:33:34 PM »
just simply another cache (sub)folder wouldnt help? (when its only about the cache..)

What you're asking for is just not that simple.  I can't state it any better.

-Kirk


Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2008, 04:19:38 PM »
ok.
but luckily, during ingest or ftp PM is not blocked.
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Wolvie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2008, 08:15:58 PM »
Brendan,
Why not put the files on a shared drive?  Open PM on the desktop and let it work and do the other things you need to do via a laptop with PM open on it to work on the files in the same folder.

Offline vAfotoriporter

  • Uber Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1029
    • View Profile
    • Attila Volgyi photojournalist
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2008, 01:33:02 AM »
Brendan,
Why not put the files on a shared drive?  Open PM on the desktop and let it work and do the other things you need to do via a laptop with PM open on it to work on the files in the same folder.

Legal wise it would require two licences of PM since with one licence you may use PM on any number of computers but not at the same time. A single licence is limited to one user and one computer at the same time.

But if this simultaneus work is that critical it still may be worth buying a second license and as the one year for upgrades passes you still have to buy a second licence to be able to upgrade the next version (which is usually adviceable).

The question is if you have one licence for an older version that you cannot upgrade any more, and you buy a new licence to be able to upgrade than does it make PM a two user licence for the newest version (which you may upgrade on all machines with the second buy)?

Sorry to make this topic this legal sided but I am really courious and it connects to the issue.
Working on Mac, OSX, iOS and with some Canons.
Allways shooting RAW.

http://www.volgyiattila.com

Offline Wolvie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: doing tasks simultaneously
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2008, 12:30:41 AM »
If I was in the OP's shoes and I ran into a similar workflow issue on a regular basis (one or more times a month), I would buy the second license.  The cost of PM is low enough that a second license would be worthwhile, considering the increase in productivity it would allow.  If I only need to do a few times a year, then I think I could cut the grass, mow the lawn or watch original Star Trek reruns while the images process.