Author Topic: New with questions  (Read 3076 times)

Offline mtpaper

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
New with questions
« on: August 23, 2008, 11:37:44 PM »
(argh - my post took so long to write that I timed out! hopefully I can remember most)

I'm not a photographer. I'm a mom who is committed to recording the who-what-when-where-why about the photos, via IPTC. I'm new to PM and Mac (Leopard 10.5.4) but not new to computer or metadata; I've been using iMatch. Many of my images are scanned from old family prints. I created EXIF fields to store dates (within iMatch, the only way I could get the IPTC.DateCreated to be accurate was to lift it from EXIF.DateTiimeOriginal).

1. PM's Variable IPTC.Date
Am I right that this is pulling from IPTC.DateCreated (ie, tag 2:055)

2. PM's Variable TIME.CaptureDate
Am I right that this is pulling from EXIF.DateTimeOriginal (ie, tag 9003)

3. Does PM use EXIF.DateTimeDigitized (ie, tag 9004) for anything?

4. Does PM use IPTC.DigitalCreationDate (ie, tag 2:062) for anything?

5. Does PM use EXIF.DateAndTime (ie, tag 0132) for anything?

6. According to a report dated 2007 from David Rieck's CV group, PM version 4.52 didn't recognize IPTC.FixtureIdentifier. Is that true? Since many of my dates are approximate, I've been using FixtureIdentifier as a place to store a text-based date (ie, about 1925, between 1920 and 1925, on July 1, 1940). If PM doesn't support the Fixture Identifier field, I'll transfer my data from Fixture Identifer to another IPTC field that I'm not using.

7. I know I can choose between 2 different IPTC Info dialog layout screens. Regular or Classic. But, is there a way to customize it? There are a number of fields that I'm not interested in including (such as urgency, copyright, writers). I do want Location, but it's not available on the Classic; but the non-classic has way more fields than I need because of all the XMP-dedicated fields....