Author Topic: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?  (Read 12897 times)

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #15 on: October 25, 2008, 03:18:40 PM »
hey guys, what netbook(s) do you use?
it sounds interesting.
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2008, 12:33:56 PM »
whats about the HP 2133,  8.9" display with 1.280 x 768 resolution
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Frantisek Vlcek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2008, 03:36:36 PM »
The HP? Nice, metal, good screen, a colleague has it, but I would be wary of the CPU it has - Via C7 is in my opinion way underpowered for photos... Although, your mileage may vary... If possible, try it out - except the CPU it is very nice...

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2008, 01:18:30 AM »
underpowered for what? of course RAW editing may be a bit slower as with a quad core desktop.

which netbook do you prefer and what cpu type does this have?

is a Intel Atom N270 @ 1.6Ghz a lot of faster as the via?

using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline Brendan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 358
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2008, 12:28:56 PM »
push:)
using the latest version of PM on win10

Offline JS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2008, 02:03:47 PM »
To Brendan,

according to all reviews I know it is.

johann

Offline Eagle66

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #21 on: January 13, 2010, 12:32:09 PM »
The posts are one Year old  ;)

I would like to buy a Netbook too next time (Mission: Sportsshooter, Out- Indoor, 150-180 shots JPG for Ingest)

-- Intel Core 2 Duo SP9300 CPU with 2,26 GHz, 2 GB RAM, Windows 7, 13,3"-Display with 1366 x 768 Pixel--

Does anyone have practical knowledge with Netbooks and PM last times?

Thanks -r-

Offline Bjorn

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #22 on: January 17, 2010, 12:52:18 AM »
I think it will work just fine.

Had Photo Mechanic installed on an old netbook with 1 gigaram, display was 1024x600.
Menus was "clipped" but still  I was able to use the menus, culling picture and extracting the embedded jpg in RAW-files was no problem.

One time I extracted about 2500 embedded jpg's with no problem.
Of course it took some time to finish  ;D

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20927
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Photomechanic on a Netbook ?
« Reply #23 on: January 17, 2010, 07:16:12 AM »
I think it will work just fine.

Had Photo Mechanic installed on an old netbook with 1 gigaram, display was 1024x600.
Menus was "clipped" but still  I was able to use the menus, culling picture and extracting the embedded jpg in RAW-files was no problem.

One time I extracted about 2500 embedded jpg's with no problem.
Of course it took some time to finish  ;D

Version 4.6.1 and higher has been optimized to run on Windows Netbooks without any clipping of menus or dialogs.

-Kirk