Author Topic: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM  (Read 12399 times)

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« on: October 18, 2008, 12:00:22 PM »
I know its been overly discussed and explained here, but Im missing something.

I read the whole manual, searched for the answer in forums, but cant make it happen.

I changed the labels colors in PM (in preferences) to the same 1-red/2-yellow/3-green/4-blue/5-magenta, marked "allways for all photos" in pref/files but LR cant see any changes yet.

What am I missing here?

1- I made my ratings in PM (using tag and red label only)
2- created a new catalog on LR
3- imported the same photos on this catalog
4- all photos are unmarked (no red labels on it).

Anyone?

Thanks!

Ricardo

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20631
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2008, 03:25:54 PM »
Ricardo,

I know its been overly discussed and explained here, but Im missing something.

I read the whole manual, searched for the answer in forums, but cant make it happen.

I changed the labels colors in PM (in preferences) to the same 1-red/2-yellow/3-green/4-blue/5-magenta, marked "allways for all photos" in pref/files but LR cant see any changes yet.

What am I missing here?

1- I made my ratings in PM (using tag and red label only)
2- created a new catalog on LR
3- imported the same photos on this catalog
4- all photos are unmarked (no red labels on it).

What file types are you working with?  If they're RAW files, make sure you're using XMP sidecar files and are not embedding IPTC4XMP into your RAW files.

-Kirk

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2008, 04:00:23 PM »
Thanks, Kirk
Im not good at this...
where do I check this information you asked for?
Ricardo


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20631
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2008, 06:23:51 PM »
Ricardo,

where do I check this information you asked for?

In the IPTC/XMP tab of the Photo Mechanic Preferences dialog.

Are you working with RAW files?  From what camera?

-Kirk

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2008, 07:43:42 AM »
Hi, Kirk

Im using raw files, cameras arre D300 / D200 / D80 (all toghether - wedding photography)

About my preferences, theres a lot of info (confusing, english is not my natural language), please tell me whats wrong with it:


Preferences ==>> IPTC/XMP tab:

Def. IPTC encoding: M ac Roman  (  ) write IPTC as unicode (unchecked)
For Tiff-based raw photos....:
1st: read embed.IPTC   2nd: read embed.XMP   3rd: read XMP sidecar file

When writing IPTC/XMP:
For jpeg,tiff,psd,dng: Add both IPTC and IPTC4xmp  Line endings (o) CR (checked)

For tiff based raw photos:
(v) add embed. IPTC (checked)

if XMP sidecar exist, add and/or update with iptc4xmp

when viewing photos... from the: jpeg file
for jpegs with multiple...: read/update the last one

(v) spell check text fields using the: US: english




Kirk, the ones I did not write in here, where unchecked.

thanks again

Ricardo

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20631
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2008, 10:27:11 AM »
Ricardo,

Im using raw files, cameras arre D300 / D200 / D80 (all toghether - wedding photography)

About my preferences, theres a lot of info (confusing, english is not my natural language), please tell me whats wrong with it:


Preferences ==>> IPTC/XMP tab:

Def. IPTC encoding: M ac Roman  (  ) write IPTC as unicode (unchecked)
For Tiff-based raw photos....:
1st: read embed.IPTC   2nd: read embed.XMP   3rd: read XMP sidecar file

When writing IPTC/XMP:
For jpeg,tiff,psd,dng: Add both IPTC and IPTC4xmp  Line endings (o) CR (checked)

For tiff based raw photos:
(v) add embed. IPTC (checked)

if XMP sidecar exist, add and/or update with iptc4xmp

when viewing photos... from the: jpeg file
for jpegs with multiple...: read/update the last one

(v) spell check text fields using the: US: english

Try these settings:



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2008, 07:02:06 AM »
thanks Kirk.
I will try these settings right now.

And how about the color classes of PM?
How do they supposed to be organized?

Mine is:

1-red
2-yellow
3-green
4-blue
5-magenta
6-cian
7-orange
8-purple

(   ) syncronize... unchecked

is this correct?

Ricardo

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20631
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2008, 07:21:39 AM »
Ricardo,

And how about the color classes of PM?
How do they supposed to be organized?

Mine is:

1-red
2-yellow
3-green
4-blue
5-magenta
6-cian
7-orange
8-purple

(   ) syncronize... unchecked

is this correct?

They need to match the color names you're using in Lightroom.  If they match, then they should work.  Please note that if LR has seen a set of images before, it will not automatically update when the XMP sidecar files have changed.  You have to manually update them in LR via some command that I don't currently know the name of.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2008, 12:15:01 PM »
Hi, Kirk

If you dont know... wonder if I do... lol

Am I supposed to look into LR on which section to figure this out? Metadata?
Some of the option I suspect are:

Copy metadata
Paste metadata
sync metadata
edit metadata presets
read metadata from files

I tried the "read" option with no luck

Ricardo


Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20631
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2008, 02:00:18 PM »
Ricardo,

If you dont know... wonder if I do... lol

Am I supposed to look into LR on which section to figure this out? Metadata?
Some of the option I suspect are:

Copy metadata
Paste metadata
sync metadata
edit metadata presets
read metadata from files

I tried the "read" option with no luck

Try the Sync metadata option.

-Kirk

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2008, 05:56:11 PM »
Kirk,
I dont know what Im doing wrong...

I imported some new photos  to LR (which has been already labeled in PM), but no labels can be seen in LR.

Heres my labels schemes:

PM                   LR (default)
1-red              6-red
2-yellow          7-yellow
3-green           8-green
4-blue             9-blue
5-magenta       \-purple
6-cian           
7-orange
8-purple

I changed the pm color scheme to match the LR one, which is uneditable.

Is the way I did correct?

I also edited my preferences label just like the one you posted.

Thanks

Ricardo

One off topic question:
If I have 2 files from 2 different cameras, which has the exact file name, how PM will deal with it at the time of ingesting?
Is one of them overwritten?

« Last Edit: October 20, 2008, 05:58:06 PM by rbuchner »

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20631
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2008, 06:18:08 PM »
Ricardo,

I dont know what Im doing wrong...

I imported some new photos  to LR (which has been already labeled in PM), but no labels can be seen in LR.

Heres my labels schemes:

PM                   LR (default)
1-red              6-red
2-yellow          7-yellow
3-green           8-green
4-blue             9-blue
5-magenta       \-purple
6-cian           
7-orange
8-purple

I changed the pm color scheme to match the LR one, which is uneditable.

Is the way I did correct?

I guess so.  I'm not sure I understand why LR starts at 6 instead of 1 however.

Quote from: rbuchner
One off topic question:
If I have 2 files from 2 different cameras, which has the exact file name, how PM will deal with it at the time of ingesting?
Is one of them overwritten?

No, one of them would be renamed by adding a letter or a digit (based on your preferences).

Do you have PM set to "Add tag, color class, and rating to IPTC/XMP:" "For all photos"?  It is a setting on the Files tab of the Photo Mechanic Preferences dialog.

HTH,

-Kirk

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2008, 06:19:24 AM »
Hi, Kirk

Anwering your questions:

LR goes from 6 to 8 because 1 to 5 is the star rating shortcut.

and Yes, "add tag, color class and rating to IPTC/XMP - Always for all photos"

thanks

Ricardo

Offline rbuchner

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2008, 06:24:05 AM »
Kirk,

it finally worked!

Thanks!!

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20631
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: I cant make LR "see" my ratings done in PM
« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2008, 06:30:21 AM »
it finally worked!

What change made it finally work for you?  Please document your settings so that others may benefit from your work.

Thanks,

-Kirk