Author Topic: 4.6 beta 2 - Problem with use raw preview as source  (Read 2856 times)

Offline bjornh

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
4.6 beta 2 - Problem with use raw preview as source
« on: February 14, 2009, 01:31:07 PM »
Hi

I have problem with saving and uploading and using the "Allow RAW previews to be used as source". I have NEF files from a D300 and often use the embedded jpg to upload to the web so I can get the changes I done i CaptureNX 2 reflected.

I'm quite sure it work with save in the last beta but I can't test since the time has expired on beta 1.

The extract JPEG is still working as it should.

Regards
Björn

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: 4.6 beta 2 - Problem with use raw preview as source
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 07:42:37 PM »
Björn,

I have problem with saving and uploading and using the "Allow RAW previews to be used as source". I have NEF files from a D300 and often use the embedded jpg to upload to the web so I can get the changes I done i CaptureNX 2 reflected.

I'm quite sure it work with save in the last beta but I can't test since the time has expired on beta 1.

The extract JPEG is still working as it should.

Well what is happening in the current version?  Any error messages?

-Kirk

Offline bjornh

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: 4.6 beta 2 - Problem with use raw preview as source
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2009, 12:56:26 AM »

Well what is happening in the current version?  Any error messages?

-Kirk


It looks like it might be rendering the RAW image. No edits that I have done i Capture NX is visible on the saved image. It's visible insid PM and when I use the extract function it works ok. There are no error messages.

I'm using PM 4.6 beta 2 on Mac OS X 10.5.6

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: 4.6 beta 2 - Problem with use raw preview as source
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2009, 06:08:57 AM »

Well what is happening in the current version?  Any error messages?

-Kirk


It looks like it might be rendering the RAW image. No edits that I have done i Capture NX is visible on the saved image. It's visible insid PM and when I use the extract function it works ok. There are no error messages.

I'm using PM 4.6 beta 2 on Mac OS X 10.5.6

Did you turn on RAW rendering using ImageIO in the RAW tab of the Preferences dialog?  Please post a screenshot of the RAW tab of the Photo Mechanic Preferences dialog if you're unsure.

-Kirk

Offline bjornh

  • Newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: 4.6 beta 2 - Problem with use raw preview as source
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2009, 06:19:34 AM »
Did you turn on RAW rendering using ImageIO in the RAW tab of the Preferences dialog?  Please post a screenshot of the RAW tab of the Photo Mechanic Preferences dialog if you're unsure.

-Kirk

Yes, that was what was behind the problem.

Might be good to somehow clarify this with a warning or something.

Offline Kirk Baker

  • Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21681
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: 4.6 beta 2 - Problem with use raw preview as source
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2009, 08:18:30 AM »
Did you turn on RAW rendering using ImageIO in the RAW tab of the Preferences dialog?  Please post a screenshot of the RAW tab of the Photo Mechanic Preferences dialog if you're unsure.

-Kirk

Yes, that was what was behind the problem.

Might be good to somehow clarify this with a warning or something.

Well, it's not really an error.  You specified that when RAW files were being used as the source that you wanted to use ImageIO.

-Kirk