Author Topic: Ratings interoperability  (Read 3640 times)

Offline dd-b

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Ratings interoperability
« on: June 28, 2010, 07:37:01 PM »
Right now, the 1-5 ratings I apply to images, and the color labels in tests I've run, aren't visible to Bibble Pro (4 or 5).  I've got workarounds involving sorting the images out into directories by rating, but they're a pain, and are easy for me to mess up.

They also don't seem to be visible to Thumbs Plus, my cataloging application of choice.

Fast Picture Viewer Pro, in contrast, implements these features in such a way that they interoperate with Bibble just fine.  I've been using PM for a few years now, and this is starting to get to be a Big Deal problem in my workflow.

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Ratings interoperability
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 10:10:22 PM »
Right now, the 1-5 ratings I apply to images, and the color labels in tests I've run, aren't visible to Bibble Pro (4 or 5).  I've got workarounds involving sorting the images out into directories by rating, but they're a pain, and are easy for me to mess up.

They also don't seem to be visible to Thumbs Plus, my cataloging application of choice.

Fast Picture Viewer Pro, in contrast, implements these features in such a way that they interoperate with Bibble just fine.  I've been using PM for a few years now, and this is starting to get to be a Big Deal problem in my workflow.

Photo Mechanic writes ratings and color labels into XMP data just like Adobe's apps do.  Are these other apps XMP compatible?

-Kirk

Offline dd-b

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2010, 05:25:18 PM »
I've been playing with settings on both ends, and have made some progress.  I can now see ratings from PM XMP files in Bibble.