Author Topic: Frame numbers with Canon cameras after the fact  (Read 4089 times)

Offline Richard George

• Newcomer
    • View Profile
Frame numbers with Canon cameras after the fact
« on: March 28, 2009, 09:17:21 AM »
I have a Mac Pro w/ Xeon dual processors and 8 GB of RAM, OS X Leopard (10.5.6) and Photo Mechanic 4.6.

I have files already on my out-board RAID hard drive.  They have been created with various Canon G-series cameras (G3, G6, etc.) and EOS D-SLR's (30D, 40D, etc.).  I often use two cameras on the same day, and would like the day's date to be the primary part of the file name.

I am new to Photo Mechanic.  For Ingest, I have the following re-naming approach

{Year4}-{Month0}-{Day0}-{Model}-{Filename}

This seems to work fine.  However, for files already on my hard drive, some of which already have both date and camera's file name in their current name, I am having problems re-naming them.  I tried using {Frame} in lieu of {Filename} but this did not work.  Once the file names have been changed once, are the frame numbers on RAW files created by the Canon cameras lost?

If they are lost, are there variables that can create sequences that re-start when the date changes?

Thanks in advance.

Richard George

Offline Kirk Baker

• Senior Software Engineer
  • Camera Bits Staff
  • Superhero Member
    • View Profile
    • Camera Bits, Inc.
Re: Frame numbers with Canon cameras after the fact
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 11:02:37 AM »
Richard,

I have a Mac Pro w/ Xeon dual processors and 8 GB of RAM, OS X Leopard (10.5.6) and Photo Mechanic 4.6.

I have files already on my out-board RAID hard drive.  They have been created with various Canon G-series cameras (G3, G6, etc.) and EOS D-SLR's (30D, 40D, etc.).  I often use two cameras on the same day, and would like the day's date to be the primary part of the file name.

I am new to Photo Mechanic.  For Ingest, I have the following re-naming approach

{Year4}-{Month0}-{Day0}-{Model}-{Filename}